ECE Welcomes Three New Faculty Members

Primary tabs

The School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) is pleased to welcome three new faculty members – Angelos Keromytis, Negar Kiyavash, and Shimeng Yu – to Georgia Tech. They have joined ECE throughout this past summer.

Angelos Keromytis is a member of the computer systems and software technical interest group, and his office is located in Klaus 3362. A Fellow of the ACM and the IEEE, Keromytis holds the John H. Weitnauer, Jr. Chair and is a Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar. His research interests are in systems and network security and applied cryptography.

Keromytis came to Georgia Tech from DARPA, where he served as program manager in the Information Innovation Office from 2014-2018. He also served as program director with the Computer and Network Systems Division in the Directorate for Computer and Information Science and Engineering at the National Science Foundation. Prior to his government agency service, Keromytis was a faculty member in the Department of Computer Science at Columbia University.

Negar Kiyavash is an associate professor in the digital signal processing technical interest group, and her office is in Centergy 5213. She holds a joint appointment with the H. Milton Stewart School of Industrial and Systems Engineering.

Kiyavash’s research interests are in statistical signal processing with applications to network interference and security. Prior to joining Georgia Tech, she was a faculty member for nine years in both the Department of ECE and Department of Industrial and Enterprise Systems Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Shimeng Yu is an associate professor and is a member of the nanotechnology and VLSI systems and digital design technical interest groups. He is located in the Microelectronics Research Center Building, Room 116.

Yu’s research interests are in nanoelectronics devices and circuits for energy-efficient computing systems. Prior to joining Georgia Tech, he was a faculty member in the School of Electrical, Computer, and Energy Engineering at Arizona State University from 2013-2018.

“Please be sure to check out Angelos’, Negar’s, and Shimeng’s faculty profiles on the ECE website and introduce yourselves as you see them in faculty meetings or around campus,” said Magnus Egerstedt, Steve W. Chaddick School Chair and ECE Professor. “I am excited to have all three of them on our faculty and look forward to them having long and productive careers with us!”


  • Workflow Status:Published
  • Created By:Jackie Nemeth
  • Created:08/27/2018
  • Modified By:Jackie Nemeth
  • Modified:08/29/2018