Applications Sought for the Nerem International Travel Award

Primary tabs

Applications are being sought for the 2012-2013 Robert M. Nerem International Travel Award. This award was endowed in 2005 by friends and colleagues of Nerem's to honor his life-long contributions in the bioengineering and bioscience field and encourage predoctoral and postdoctoral trainees to broaden their research experiences by establishing an international collaboration and traveling to an international destination.

The award provides up to $3,000 for the selected applicant to travel abroad with preference given to those who will learn new tools or techniques. To be eligible for the award the trainee must have one year remaining in their research and complete their travel by August 31, 2013. For the 2012-2013 award, the applications are due May 11, 2012.

As the Petit Institute’s founding director, Bob passionately served the community for 14 years and successfully led the institute to national and international prominence in the fields of bioengineering & bioscience.

Everyone that knows Bob, knows he loves to travel. His travels have brought him to all corners of the world and it is through his travel that he has served as a great champion of Georgia Tech and the 
biocommunity as a whole.

The Nerem International Travel Award has allowed trainees an opportunity to travel to a wide variety of international universities and research institutes, including the Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden; RIKEN Brain Science Institute, Japan; the National University of Singapore;  University of Twente, The Netherlands; Queensland University of Technology, Australia; and Consorzio Interuniversitario Lombardo per L’Elaborazione Automatica, Milan, Italy.

Nerem came to Georgia Tech in the winter of 1987 as a professor in the School of Mechanical Engineering and as the Parker H. Petit Distinguished Chair for Engineering in Medicine. He is one of the grandfathers of the booming bio-community that exists on campus today. Prior to coming to Georgia Tech, he was a professor and chairman in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Houston from 1979 to 1986 and on the faculty at the Ohio State University form 1964 to 1979.


  • Workflow Status:Published
  • Created By:Megan McDevitt
  • Created:04/13/2012
  • Modified By:Fletcher Moore
  • Modified:10/07/2016