NSF Appoints CEISMC’s Lizanne DeStefano to STEM Education Advisory Panel

Primary tabs

The National Science Foundation (NSF) – in consultation with the Department of Education, NASA, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) – has appointed Lizanne DeStefano as one of 18 inaugural members of its STEM Education Advisory Panel.

DeStefano is the executive director of the Center for Education Integrating Science, Mathematics, and Computing (CEISMC). She is also an associate dean in the College of Sciences and a professor in the School of Psychology at  Georgia Institute of Technology.

DeStefano’s research interests include the evaluation and sustainability of innovative science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education programs and initiatives; including those serving special populations, such as students with disabilities or those at-risk for academic failure. She contributes to efforts that improve the quality of teaching and the student experience, such as the Georgia Tech Commission on Creating the Next in Education. DeStefano is a former special education teacher and a clinical and school psychologist.

“I am honored to serve on the inaugural panel and look forward to sharing Georgia Tech’s STEM education innovation and learning from other across the country,” DeStefano said.

STEM Education Advisory Panel

NSF’s STEM Education Advisory Panel was created to encourage U.S. scientific and technological innovations in education. Under the American Innovation and Competitiveness Act, Congress authorized the creation of the panel to advise a group of federal organizations called the Committee on Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Education (CoSTEM).

In particular, Congress authorized the panel to help identify opportunities to update the 2013-2018 Federal STEM Education 5-Year Strategic Plan, which CoSTEM developed to improve the efficiency, coordination, and impact of federally supported STEM education investments.

In addition, the panel will assess CoSTEM’s progress in carrying out responsibilities mandated by the America COMPETES Reauthorization Act.

“This new panel has an opportunity to bring fresh eyes and novel approaches to CoSTEM’s next five-year strategic plan, which will help enhance the nation’s entire STEM ecosystem,” said NSF Director France Córdova, who co-chairs CoSTEM. “NSF continues to generate benefits for society through STEM research. To fulfill that mission, we and our federal partners need to make strategic investments to create new generations of discoverers.”

“This advisory panel is another strong step taken by this administration to advance educational options in the STEM fields,” said Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos, a CoSTEM member. “I look forward to working with this exceptional new group of STEM leaders to ensure we are constantly rethinking what education means for America’s students.”

“STEM is vital for NOAA to protect lives and property, enhance the economy, and conserve natural resources,” said NOAA acting undersecretary of commerce for oceans and atmosphere, retired Navy Rear Adm. Tim Gallaudet. “As a member of CoSTEM, I look forward to working with this distinguished panel and hearing their recommendations that will help advance these efforts.

“NASA is proud of the many ways that its missions inspire the next generation of STEM leaders. Across the spectrum of our work, students and educators have many opportunities to learn from and engage with our work,” said NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine, who co-chairs CoSTEM. “We’re going back to the moon and on to Mars, and we’re going to keep doing the amazing things that will help fill the pipeline of new explorers and create a bright future.”

Inaugural Panel Members

Gabriela Gonzalez, Greater Americas Region deputy director of Intel Corporation, will chair the new panel. David Evans, executive director of the National Science Teachers Association, will serve as vice chair.

The panel is composed of individuals from nonprofit, business, academic and informal education organizations. The members are:

  • Vince Bertram, president, and CEO, Project Lead the Way, Inc.
  • Douglas Clements, Kennedy Endowed Chair in Early Childhood Learning, executive director of the Marsico Institute for Early Learning and Literacy, and professor, University of Denver
  • Lizanne DeStefano, executive director, Center for Education Integrating Science, Mathematics, and Computing (CEISMC), Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Arthur Eisenkraft, distinguished professor of science education and director of the Center of Science and Math in Context (COSMIC), the University of Massachusetts, Boston
  • David Evans, executive director, National Science Teachers Association
  • Gabriela Gonzalez, Greater Americas Region deputy director, Intel Corporation
  • Jacqueline Huntoon, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs, Michigan Technological University
  • Aimee Kennedy, senior vice president for education, Battelle
  • Laurie Leshin, president, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Robert Mathieu, director, Wisconsin Center for Education Research, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Ray Mellado, chairman of the board and founder, Great Minds in STEM
  • Ioannis (Yannis) Miaoulis, president, and director, Museum of Science, Boston
  • K. Renae Pullen, K-6 science curriculum instructional specialist, Caddo Parish Public Schools
  • Larry Robinson, president, Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University (FAMU), and director of NOAA’s Center for Coastal and Marine Ecosystems at FAMU
  • Kimberly Scott, professor of Women and Gender Studies, Arizona State University
  • Robert Semper, associate executive director, Exploratorium
  • William (Yslas) Velez, emeritus professor of Mathematics, The University of Arizona
  • Bruce Wellman, Chemistry, Engineering, and Robotics teacher, Olathe Northwest High School


  • Workflow Status:Published
  • Created By:Steven Taylor
  • Created:07/12/2018
  • Modified By:Steven Taylor
  • Modified:05/20/2020