Arkadi Nemirovski Joins ISyE Faculty

Primary tabs

Professor Nemirovski has made fundamental contributions in continuous optimization in the last thirty years that have significantly shaped the field. He developed (with D. Yudin) the theory of information-based complexity for convex optimization underlying the majority of modern results on efficient solvability of well-structured convex problems, which is described in their book "Problem complexity and method efficiency in optimization" (1983). This work led to the development of the ellipsoid algorithm (with Yudin) and the polynomial-time solvability of linear programming (by L. Khachiyan), and Nemirovski was the co-recipient (together with Yudin and Khachiyan) of the Fulkerson Prize from the Mathematical Programming Society and the American Mathematical Society in 1982. In the 1980s and 1990s Nemirovski did ground-breaking work in the theory and algorithmic implementation of interior-point polynomial-time methods for convex optimization. He developed (with Y. Nesterov) a general theory of polynomial-time interior-point methods that is described in their book "Interior-point polynomial algorithms in convex programming" (1994). In recognition of his contributions to convex optimization, Nemirovski was awarded the Dantzig Prize from the Mathematical Programming Society and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics in 1991. He introduced and developed (with A. Ben-Tal) the theory of robust optimization as a way of dealing with data perturbations in convex optimization. This, along with applications of convex optimization to quadratically constrained, semidefinite, and geometric optimization problems, is described in their book "Lectures on modern convex optimization: analysis, algorithms; engineering applications" (2001). In recognition of his seminal and profound contributions to continuous optimization, Nemirovski was awarded the 2003 John von Neumann Theory Prize by the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (along with Michael Todd). He continues to make significant contributions in almost all aspects of continuous optimization: complexity, numerical methods, stochastic optimization, and non-parametric statistics. Arkadi Nemirovski earned the Ph.D. in Mathematics (1974) from Moscow State University and the Doctor of Sciences in Mathematics (1990) from the Institute of Cybernetics of the Ukrainian Academy of Sciences, Kiev. He is the only individual to have won all three of these prestigious prizes (Fulkerson, Dantzig, and von Neumann).


  • Workflow Status: Published
  • Created By: Barbara Christopher
  • Created: 03/01/2005
  • Modified By: Fletcher Moore
  • Modified: 10/07/2016



No keywords were submitted.

Target Audience