Several ISyE Faculty were Recognized by IIE in 2000

Primary tabs

Professor John Bartholdi and Don Eisenstein won the Award for Technical Innovation. Justin Myrick, director of the Health Systems Resource Center, was elected a Fellow. Don Young, who died in 1999, was also elected to Fellow posthumously. Professor Ellis Johnson won the prestigious INFORMS John Von Neumann Theory prize for 2000. He shares the prize with Manfred Padberg of Carnegie Mellon University. Assistant Professors Hayriye Ayhan and Anton Kleywegt have received the National Science Foundation's CAREER Award. This award recognizes outstanding scientists and engineers early in their career who show exceptional potential for leadership at the frontiers of knowledge. It is the highest award bestowed by the U.S. government on young scientists and engineers. OTHER FACULTY NEWS Her students and fellow faculty may not know it, but Assistant Professor Victoria Chen brings more than engineering expertise to the Tech campus. Dr. Chen is an accomplished dancer, with a resume that includes the Johns Hopkins Dance Company and the Princeton Ballet Society. In addition to her Statistic Modeling and Design classes, she also teaches modern dance for the GT Options program. Amy Pritchett has been selected as one of 16 recipients of the XVI Sixteen Award, given by the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The award honors Department students and alumni under age 35 whose innovation and vision are expected to create a future of opportunity. Professor Richard Serfozo has a new book, Introduction to Stochastic Networks, published by Spring-Verlag. Dr. Serfozo's book describes the theory of stochastic network flows that arise in computer/telecommunications, manufacturing, supply chain, biology and other areas.


  • Workflow Status: Published
  • Created By: Barbara Christopher
  • Created: 02/28/2001
  • Modified By: Fletcher Moore
  • Modified: 10/07/2016



No keywords were submitted.

Target Audience