Ellen Heath (MCP ’82) and Jeffrey Rader (MCP ’87) inducted into AICP College of Fellows

Primary tabs

Two Georgia Tech alumni, Ellen Heath (MCP ’82) and Jeffrey Rader (MCP ’87), were inducted into the AICP College of Fellows on the evening of 27 April, 2014 during the national APA conference in Atlanta. The citations read at their induction were:

Ellen Heath is a distinguished planner with more than 30 years’ experience in land use and recreational planning, regional visioning, military community planning, and neighborhood planning. With more than 100 projects in over 20 states over a 30-year period, she has influenced scores of communities with plans that are grounded in community engagement and practical implementation. Highlights include the first island-wide plan in the Bahamas; regional sustainability plans in Texas, New Mexico, Kansas, and Mississippi; Joint Land Use Studies in ten states; and regional growth plans for military communities in Washington State, New York, Georgia and Kansas. 

Working for 26 years at the interface between planning analysis and policy implementation, Jeff Rader is widely recognized for integrating comprehensive planning objectives into major decisions in the contemporary life of metropolitan Atlanta. Focusing on infrastructure, environmental and development policy, and engaging business, public interest, and governmental policymakers, Jeff has made essential contributions and is exemplary of a planner assuming direct responsibility for change. In private and public sector roles, and now in elected office, his signature achievement is advancing a clear, inclusive public interest in the region’s approach to overcoming challenges imposed by rapid growth and a changing world.

Ellen is currently vice president with AECOM in Atlanta. Jeff is principal with Jacobs Engineering and county commissioner for DeKalb County, Georgia. They join 11 other GT alumni in the College of Fellows, as well as 14 current and former faculty. To view the full list, visit

Pictured: (from left)  Bruce Stiftel, FAICP (current chairperson, Georgia Tech's School of City and Regional Planning); Leon Eplan, FAICP (director of Georgia Tech's City Planning program, 1979-82); David Kirk, FAICP; Joel Putterman, FAICP; Steve French, FAICP (current dean, Georgia Tech's College of Architecture); Ellen Heath, FAICP; MCP ‘82; Jeff Rader, FAICP (MCP ‘87); Arthur (Chris) Nelson, FAICP (former Georgia Tech faculty member, 1987-01); Glen Coyne, FAICP (MCP ’87); Cheryl Contant (director of Georgia Tech's City Planning Program, 1999-2008).


  • Workflow Status:
  • Created By:
    Kyle James
  • Created:
  • Modified By:
    Fletcher Moore
  • Modified:


    No categories were selected.

Target Audience

    No target audience selected.