ISyE Hosts Annual Undergraduate Student Awards Ceremony

Primary tabs

The Stewart School of Industrial & Systems Engineering (ISyE) held its annual Undergraduate Student Awards Ceremony on April 18, 2013. Students, faculty, parents, alumni, and award sponsors joined together to recognize some of ISyE’s exceptional undergraduate students for their outstanding academic achievement as well as for their contributions to the School and the community.  The awards and scholarships were presented by Jane Ammons, Stewart School Chair and professor, Fran Buser, ISyE academic adviser, Maria Frantz, IE 2001, ISyE Associate Professor Anton Kleywegt, Dima Nazzal, Director of Student Services, Patti Parker, ISyE academic advisor, Jose Sarmiento, President of IIE, and ISyE Professor Jan Shi.

Congratulations to the following students:       

Jose Sarmiento and Alexander Terry received the Stewart School of Industrial & Systems Engineering Leadership Award which is given to officers of the student chapter of the Institute of Industrial Engineers and to the president of Alpha Pi Mu, IE’s honor society. 

Cathy Guo received The Stewart School of Industrial & Systems Engineering Senior Service Award,given to a senior who has provided exceptional service to ISyE.  Dimple Bansal, Matt Fox, Cathy Guo, Diana Lim, Jose Sarmiento, Alex Terry, and Alexey Zarnitsyn were given special recognition certificates as finalists for the award.

Andrew Frazelle received the Alpha Pi Mu Academic Excellence Award.  The Alpha Pi Mu Honor Society presents $500 to a senior with the best academic achievement, including GPA, difficulty in the curriculum, research, and other scholarly accomplishments. The winner’s name will be added to the perpetual plaque outside of the academic office.  Joshua Berne, Hongfan Chen, Dylan Cross, Andrew Frazelle, Nicholas Keith, Lauren Kley, Richard Lu, Megan Sweeney, Alexey Zamitsyn, and Yuanshuo Zhao were given special recognition certificates as finalists for the award.

Richard Lu received the COE Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award which is organized by the Undergraduate Student Research Program.

Lauren Kley received the Henry Ford II Best Junior Award which is administered in the College of Engineering and given to a student at the end of their third year with the best academic performance in ISyE.  Dylan Cross, Wesley Hughes, Lauren Kley, Richard Lu, Alexander Terry, and Yuanshuo Zhao were given special recognition certificates as finalists for the award.

Hye Bae, Dylan Buczek, Nicholas Buczek, Kirsten Carella, Azeem Feroz, Samantha Smith and Caleb Steiner were awarded the Jack C. Webb Scholarship. Jack Webb Scholarships are given to rising juniors or seniors in ISyE.  Recipients are awarded $1,000 for scholarship, leadership and extracurricular and community activities.

Catherine Hwang and Ari Siesser were awarded the Kurt Salmon Associates Scholarship in Industrial and Systems Engineering.  These scholarships of $1000 are awarded to selected seniors in ISyE based on academic merit and contribution in the School. 

Natalie Souther was awarded the ALCOA Foundation Scholarship which is given to a second, third, or fourth year student who has the right to work in the United States and exhibits strong leadership skills, high energy level, solid academic performance, excellent interpersonal skills, tolerance for stress, and demonstrates initiative.

Can Amado, Andrew Borda, Alina Cornejo, Azeem Feroz, Peter Gumulia, and Richard (Yuchen) Zheng received the Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals Scholarshipof $2,000 which is shared by the selected awardees who have a GPA of 3.2 or above and contribute to the supply chain engineering program at Georgia Tech.

Anubhav Jain, Huiqi Ma, and Adjoa Aka received the Ligon Fund for Student Travel Award.  This award is to assist ISyE students’ travel to conferences or other worthy activities that will benefit ISyE and the student. The award can be used to cover transportation and accommodations reimbursable from $500 - $1,000.

Simon Chow, Michael Noah, Binita Patel and Nolan Thomson were awarded ISyE Scholarships in recognition of their accomplishments in academics, leadership, and service.

Steven A. Parker received the Frantz Family Young Entrepreneurs Scholarship.  Established in 2006, this award is presented to an industrial engineering student who is interested in establishing a small business and gaining financial freedom. The student must have clear business objectives and goals along with the demonstrated determination to pursue and reach those goals.

Josh Berne received the IIE Outstanding Senior Award, Jacob Blaeser received the IIE Rising Star Award, and Haoxiang Yang received the IIE Top International Student Award.  The student chapter of IIE offers three awards of $1,000 each to recognize those with strong academic performance, service and leadership


  • Workflow Status:Published
  • Created By:Ashley Daniel
  • Created:04/19/2013
  • Modified By:Fletcher Moore
  • Modified:10/07/2016