CQGRD staff recognized for outstanding performance

Primary tabs

The Center for Quality Growth and Regional Development (CQGRD) again demonstrated its commitment to student researcher excellence this academic year with an unprecedented four CQGRD graduate research assistants receiving end-of-the-year awards. City and Regional Planning Master's students Elise Barrella, Andrea Foard, Heather McCarey, and Dave Pierce were each honored with academic achievement awards at various ceremonies across campus in April. The awards are as follows:

Elise Barrella, a first-year student, has received a 2007 Fellowship from Glatting, Jackson, Kercher, Anglin, Lopez and Rinehart, Inc. This fellowship is given to first-year City and Regional Planning Master's students who have achieved academic excellence and who show an interest in urban design and/or transportation planning.

Andrea Foard, a second-year student, has earned a 2007 Tower Award from the Office of Minority Educational Development at Georgia Tech. This award is given for graduating minority Master's students who have achieved a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

Heather McCarey, a first-year student, was honored with the 2007 Thera H. Richter Memorial Fellowship. Thera Richter was the first female to graduate from Georgia Tech's City and Regional Planning program and this award is given to an outstanding first-year female Master's student.

Dave Pierce, a second-year student, has been named the 2007 Student of the Year by the Georgia Planning Association. The Georgia Planning Association Student of the Year award is given to a graduating planning student with an outstanding academic record and promising professional career.

Congratulations to all four awardees!


  • Workflow Status:
  • Created By:
  • Created:
  • Modified By:
    Fletcher Moore
  • Modified:


    No categories were selected.


    No keywords were submitted.

Target Audience

    No target audience selected.