Women of Excellence ADVANCE Award Winners

Primary tabs

Professor Catherine Ross, College of Architecture ADVANCE Professor, is pleased to announce winners of the 2008-2009 College of Architecture NSF ADVANCE Program Women of Excellence Awards.

These awards are presented to individuals who have distinguished themselves through their leadership, scholarship and sustained service on behalf of the Georgia Institute of Technology and the College of Architecture. In particular, honorees were judged on criteria of academic leadership in their discipline, professional leadership within the university, professional leadership within the College of Architecture, and contribution to intellectual and social success of the Tech community.

Award winners are:

CoA NSF ADVANCE Women of Excellence Faculty Award ($1500):
Dr. Betty Dowling, Professor, Architecture Program

CoA NSF ADVANCE Women of Excellence Graduate Award ($800):
Jessica L.H. Doyle, Ph.D. candidate, City and Regional Planning Program

CoA NSF ADVANCE Women of Excellence Undergraduate Award ($500):
Shannon Barnes, undergraduate, Building Construction Program

About the NSF ADVANCE Program
ADVANCE is dedicated to analyzing and eliminating gender disparities in the academic setting. At Georgia Tech, it provides resources to reduce gender bias, mitigate barriers due to family responsibilities, and increase career advancement opportunities for women. Dr. Ross has recently been appointed as the ADVANCE Professor for the CoA, tasked with leading the program for CoA faculty and academic professionals. The ADVANCE program is funded by the National Science Foundation and Georgia Tech.


  • Workflow Status: Published
  • Created By: Michelle Marcus
  • Created: 05/03/2009
  • Modified By: Fletcher Moore
  • Modified: 10/07/2016


No categories were selected.


No keywords were submitted.

Target Audience

No target audience selected.