Grad Students Shine, Take Home Research Grants at This Year's 3MT Competition

Primary tabs

On Thursday, April 6, 14 graduate students competed in the final round of this year's Three Minute Thesis (3MT) Competition. Congratulations to the following finalists who took home prizes in the form of research travel grants:

Master's category:

  • Pranav Premdas, Electrical and Computer Engineering, M.S. Winner

  • Sravan Jayanthi, Computer Science, M.S. Winner

Both master's category winners received $1,000 research travel grants each.

Ph.D. category:

  • Corey Zheng, Biomedical Engineering, Ph.D. Winner  

  • Asim Gazi, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Ph.D. Runner Up  

  • Nikhil Iyengar, Aerospace Engineering, Ph.D. Runner Up 

The Ph.D. winner won a $2,000 research travel grant. The Ph.D. runner-ups each received $1,500 in research travel grants. Shaylyn Grier, Biomedical Engineering, Ph.D. won the coveted People’s Choice award and also received a $500 research travel grant.  

Tech’s 3MT competition is coordinated by the Office of Graduate Education in partnership with the Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL), The Naugle Communications Center, and the Language Institute. For more information about this year’s 3MT Competition, visit


  • Workflow Status:
  • Created By:
    Brittani Hill
  • Created:
  • Modified By:
  • Modified:


    No categories were selected.

Target Audience

    No target audience selected.