BBISS Appoints Nine New Faculty Fellows

Primary tabs

Nine new Faculty Fellows were appointed to the Brook Byers Institute for Sustainable Systems (BBISS). In addition to their own work, BBISS Fellows serve as a board of advisors to the BBISS; foster the culture and community of sustainability researchers, educators, and students at Georgia Tech; and communicate broadly the vision, mission, values, and objectives of the BBISS. Fellows will work with the BBISS for three years, with the potential for a renewed term.

The BBISS Faculty Fellows program has been in place since 2014. Fellows will number between 10 and 15, will be drawn from across all 6 colleges and GTRI at Georgia Tech. It is expected that annual allowances provided to each BBISS Fellow will range from $1000 to $1500 depending on number of fellows in the program and availability of funds.

The new BBISS Faculty Fellows are:

  • Joe Bozeman – Assistant Professor, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Dylan Brewer - Assistant Professor, School of Economics
  • Andre Calmon – Assistant Professor, Scheller College of Business
  • Brian Gunter - Associate Professor, Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering
  • Jenny McGuire – Assistant Professor, School of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences and School of Biological Sciences
  • Jessica Roberts – Assistant Professor, College of Computing
  • Ilan Stern – Senior Research Scientist, Georgia Tech Research Institute
  • Anjali Thomas - Associate Professor, Sam Nunn School of International Affairs
  • Zhaohui Tong - Associate Professor, School of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

These faculty members join the current roster of Faculty Fellows:

More information can be found on the BBISS website.


  • Workflow Status: Published
  • Created By: jhunt7
  • Created: 12/14/2022
  • Modified By: adavidson38
  • Modified: 03/02/2023

Target Audience