2022 Ivan Allen Jr. Social Courage Prize Symposium

Primary tabs

2022 Ivan Allen Jr. Social Courage Prize Symposium 

“Georgia Tech Trailblazers”: Ralph A. Long Jr., Lawrence Williams, Ronald L. Yancy and, posthumously, Ford C. Greene

Wednesday, April 20, 2022, 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.
Biltmore Hotel Ballrooms, West Peachtree and Fifth St., Atlanta

Moderated by Charlayne Hunter-Gault, the 2022 Ivan Allen Jr. Social Courage Prize Symposium panelists will consider challenges--1961 laws, social discrimination, university admissions decisions--that the first Black students enrolling at Georgia Tech and their community supporters navigated, the students’ experiences on campus and their achievements, and how ensuring equity in higher education contributes to social progress. Following the panel discussion, the awardees will offer remarks.


  • Dr. Raheem Beyah, Dean, College of Engineering, Georgia Tech
  • Dr. Brian Blake, President, Georgia State University  
  • Ms. Shelbe Johnson, GT senior majoring in ChBE 
  • Dr. Willie Pearson, Professor of Sociology, History and Sociology, Georgia Tech
  • State Rep. David Wilkerson

Learn more and RSVP here: https://ivanallenprize.gatech.edu/welcome


  • Workflow Status: Published
  • Created By: dminardi3
  • Created: 03/28/2022
  • Modified By: cwhittle9
  • Modified: 03/30/2022


No categories were selected.


No keywords were submitted.

Target Audience

No target audience selected.