Fourteen in Ivan Allen College Recognized for Teaching Excellence


Michael Pearson

Sidebar Content
No sidebar content submitted.

Summary Sentence:

The honored faculty members received excellent reviews from students.

Full Summary:

The honored faculty members received excellent reviews from students.

  • 2021 IAC CIOS Recipients 2021 IAC CIOS Recipients

Fourteen Ivan Allen College faculty members are among 50 across campus recognized with the Student Recognition of Excellence in Teaching: 2021 CIOS Award. The annual award from the Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) honors faculty with exceptional response rates and scores from students on the Course Instructor Opinion Survey (CIOS).

CTL bases CIOS scores on student evaluations of instructors’ respect and concern for students, faculty members’ level of enthusiasm about teaching a course, and their ability to stimulate interest in the subject matter.

The recipients from the Ivan Allen College were each in the small-class category. They are: Mary McDonald from the School of History and Sociology; Joseph Salyer, Molly Slavin, and Gregory Zinman from the School of Literature, Media, and Communication; Seung-Eun Chang, Lionel Gall, Yongtaek Kim, Bo Kyoung Kim, Jin Liu, Lee Oh, Melissa Pilkington, and Satomi Suzuki Chenoweth in the School of Modern Languages; Eliza Markley in the Sam Nunn School of International Affairs; and Andrew Culbreth of the School of Public Policy.

The 50 faculty members named by CETL were previously honored with the CIOS Honor Roll, which is for instructors who met base criteria of a 70% response rate from students and placed in the top 25% of composite CIOS scores in their class-size category — either large or small.

The recipients will receive a $1,000 award and recognition at the Celebrating Teachers Day in March.

Additional Information


Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts, Sam Nunn School of International Affairs, School of History and Sociology, School of Literature, Media, and Communication, School of Modern Languages, School of Public Policy

No categories were selected.
Related Core Research Areas
No core research areas were selected.
Newsroom Topics
No newsroom topics were selected.
cios, Awards, ivan allen college
  • Created By: mpearson34
  • Workflow Status: Published
  • Created On: Mar 1, 2022 - 1:48pm
  • Last Updated: Mar 1, 2022 - 2:03pm