Professor Tim Lieuwen Selected for AIAA Propellants and Combustion Award

Primary tabs

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) announced that Regents Professor Tim Lieuwen is the recipient of the AIAA Propellants and Combustion Award during the 2022 AIAA SciTech Forum held January 3 – 7, in San Diego.

The award is given annually for outstanding technical contributions to aerospace combustion engineering and is widely recognized as one of the leading recognitions for those working in the propulsion and energy fields. Lieuwen’s citation reads “For outstanding leadership in research and development of high-performance, fuel-flexible power and propulsion combustion technologies.”

“While I’m delighted with this recognition, of course this is really a recognition of the outstanding work of the entire lab. I’d particularly like to highlight the world class team working with me – my students and Dr. Ben Emerson, Dr. Vishal Acharya, Mr. David Wu, and Mr. Subodh Adhikari,” said Lieuwen.

A member of the National Academy of Engineers and a Regents' Professor, Lieuwen is currently the holder of the AE School's David S. Lewis, Jr. Chair, and serves as the executive director of Georgia Tech's Strategic Energy Institute. He has authored or edited four combustion books, including the textbook Unsteady Combustor Physics, and more than 400 other publications.

Lieuwen’s research includes clean energy and propulsion systems, energy policy, acoustics, fluid mechanics, and combustion. He works closely with industry and government, focusing particularly on fundamental problems that arise out of the development of clean combustion systems or utilization of alternative fuels.

With his selection as the 2022 recipient, Lieuwen becomes the third AE professor to receive the award. Previous awardees include Ben T. Zinn (1996) and Vigor Yang (2009). “Georgia Tech’s leading combustion program is shaping energy’s sustainable future in areas such as sustainable aviation fuels and hydrogen,” said William R. T. Oakes Professor & School Chair Mark Costello, “The AE School is delighted with this recognition of the quality and impact of Dr. Lieuwen’s research."



  • Workflow Status:Published
  • Created By:Brent Verrill
  • Created:01/21/2022
  • Modified By:Brent Verrill
  • Modified:01/21/2022