Grad Students Take Home Travel Grants During Career Conference

Primary tabs

Article by Autumn Siebold

On Jan. 27, on-campus and online graduate students competed in the 2020 Career, Research, and Innovation Development Conference (CRIDC) poster competition.

Congratulations to the following students who won travel grants ranging from $500 to $2,000:

On-campus Student Honors

Provost's Awards ($2,000)

  • Alex Balzer, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Daniella Corporan, Biomedical Engineering
  • Beatrice Ncho, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Nikhil Raj, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Daniel Schiff, Public Policy

Executive Vice President for Research Awards ($2,000)

  • Yutong Guo, Mechanical Engineering
  • Annika Jersild, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
  • David Jovel, Aerospace Engineering
  • Ronita Mathias, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Audrey Scholz, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Lindsey Trejo, Mechanical Engineering

College of Computing Awards ($1,500)

  • Ardavan Afshar, Computational Science and Engineering
  • Arjun Srinivasan, Computer Science
  • Brianna Tomlinson, Human-Centered Computing

College of Engineering Awards ($1,500)

  • Shawn Gregory, Materials Science Engineering
  • Mohammad Hamza Kirmani, Materials Science Engineering
  • Andrew W. Tricker, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Phoebe Welch, Bioengineering
  • Liran Zheng, Electrical and Computer Engineering

College of Science Awards ($1,500)

  • Maryrose Barrios, Physics
  • Audra M Davidson, Applied Physiology
  • Sudarshan Ghonge, Physics
  • Aaron Pital, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Executive Vice President for Research and Institute Diversity Award ($2,000)

  • Glenn Cameron, Computer Science

Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts Graduate Paper Competition Awards

  • Sharon Rachel, History and Sociology of Technology and Science ($1,500)
  • Karim Farhat and Karl Grindal, Public Policy ($1,000)
  • Olufunke Adebola, International Affairs ($750)
  • Jeremy Pesner, Public Policy ($750)

VentureLab Innovation Competition Awards

  • Mohammadreza Nazemi, Mechanical Engineering ($1,000)
  • Mohamma Hamza Kirmani, Materials Science Engineering ($500)
  • Tripp Ulmer, Nuclear and Radiological Engineering ($500)

Online Student Honors

College of Computing ($1,500)

  • Alice Li, Computer Science
  • Pranay Bhattacharyya, Computer Science

Executive Vice President for Research ($2,000)

  • James Cardinal, Analytics

For more information about CRIDC, visit


  • Workflow Status:
  • Created By:
  • Created:
  • Modified By:
    Amelia Pavlik
  • Modified:

Target Audience

    No target audience selected.