Six Tech Students Selected as Brooke Owens Fellows

Primary tabs

This summer, several Georgia Tech students will be participating in the prestigious Brooke Owens Fellowship. The program recognizes distinguished college-age women and other gender minorities in the aerospace engineering field. It was created to honor Dawn Brooke Owens, a pioneer in the space industry and an accomplished pilot who died in 2016.

Of the 40 students selected as fellows this year, six of them come from Georgia Tech. They are:

  • Katie Bishop, electrical engineering major
  • Olivia Plumb, mechanical engineering major and aerospace engineering/French minor
  • Kinjal Ruecker, mechanical engineering major and aerospace engineering minor
  • Saba Shaik, aerospace engineering major
  • Sanjana Tewathia, aerospace engineering major
  • Rachel Thomas, aerospace engineering major

Brooke Owens Fellows are selected for their talent, experience, commitment to service, and creativity. They will receive a paid internship at a top aerospace company, two senior- or executive-level mentors, a trip to a summit with all of the other fellows, and a lifelong membership to the Brooke Owens Fellowship network.

For more information, visit the Brooke Owens website. To learn more about the Tech students selected, see the announcements of the Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering and the George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering.



  • Workflow Status:Published
  • Created By:gwyner3
  • Created:01/30/2020
  • Modified By:gwyner3
  • Modified:02/06/2020