James Cramer Wins Christian Petersen Design Award

Primary tabs

The Christian Petersen Design Award is an award presented by Iowa State University (ISU). The award was established in 1980 to “…recognize alumni, staff, and friends of the university for contributions to the advancement of design through personal aesthetic achievement, exceptional support, or extraordinary encouragement and service. This year, the award will be presented to James Cramer, part-time lecturer in the Georgia Tech School of Architecture and founder of the Design Futures Council and its journal, DesignIntelligence. Cramer is also the former Chief Executive of the American Institute of Architects in Washington DC. Cramer has authored four books including How Firms Succeed, A Field Guide to Design Management (co-author, Scott Simpson) now in its 5th Edition and Design+Enterprise, Seeking a New Reality in Architecture now in its 3rd Edition. He has written over 220 articles and book chapters for numerous publications and was founding publisher of both Architectural Technology and DesignIntelligence. Another recognizable name among the Christian Petersen Design Award winners is Georgia Tech’s College of Design (formerly College of Architecture) Dean, Thomas Galloway. Galloway was the Dean of ISU’s College of Design from 1985 to 1992, and joined Georgia Tech the following year, the same year he was the recipient of the Christian Petersen Design Award. Learn more about the Christian Petersen Design Award here.


  • Workflow Status: Published
  • Created By: cwagster3
  • Created: 12/05/2019
  • Modified By: cwagster3
  • Modified: 12/05/2019


No categories were selected.


No keywords were submitted.

Target Audience