IEN Special Seminar: A Physical Organic Chemist's Approach to Precursors for the Deposition of Inorganic Nanostructures

Primary tabs

Lisa McElwee-White: Colonel Allen R. and Margaret G. Crow Professor and Chair
Department of Chemistry, University of Florida

Abstract: Nanostructured materials can be deposited from organometallic and inorganic precursors by a variety of techniques including chemical vapor deposition (CVD) and focused electron beam induced deposition (FEBID).  Precursor choice requires consideration of the reaction conditions and possible decomposition mechanisms for the particular method. Mechanism-based design of precursors for CVD will be presented in case studies for contrast with strategies for design of FEBID precursors.  The examples for CVD will be low temperature deposition of tungsten carbonitride (WNxCy) and tungsten oxide (WOx) films and nanoparticles.  In contrast, the conditions for FEBID are surface reactions under high electron flux, necessitating different precursor design rules.  Strategies for adapting selected CVD precursor types for FEBID and efforts to identify privileged ligand classes and optimal coordination spheres for FEBID precursors will be discussed in the context of studies on Ru, Pt and Au complexes.

Bio: Lisa McElwee-White is the Colonel Allen R. and Margaret G. Crow Professor and Chair of the Department of Chemistry at the University of Florida. She received a B.S. degree from the University of Kansas and completed her Ph.D. at the California Institute of Technology.  After two years of postdoctoral work at Stanford University, she joined the Stanford faculty as an Assistant Professor in 1985. She moved to the University of Florida as an Associate Professor in 1993 and was promoted to Professor in 1997.  Following a term as Associate Dean for Administrative Affairs in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, she returned to the Department of Chemistry, where she became Chair in 2017.  She has also served as Director of the UF Beckman Scholars Program and Director of the NSF-CCI Center for Nanostructured Electronic Materials. Prof. McElwee-White's current research interests center around the applications of organometallic chemistry in materials science. Her work has been funded by a variety of federal agencies, foundations, and companies including NSF, DOE, ARO, ONR, NASA, ACS-PRF, the Beckman Foundation, HHMI and FEI.  She is the author of 155 peer reviewed publications and has presented more than 200 invited lectures. Her Editorial Board service includes ACS Applied Materials and Interfaces, Organometallics, the Journal of Organic Chemistry, Letters in Organic Chemistry and Current Organic Chemistry.  She has served as Chair of the Division of Organic Chemistry of the American Chemical Society and was named as a Fellow of the American Chemical Society in 2010. Her recent awards include the Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal (2019), Herty Medal (2019), Florida Award (2015) and the Charles H. Stone Award (2012).



  • Workflow Status:Published
  • Created By:Christa Ernst
  • Created:09/05/2019
  • Modified By:Christa Ernst
  • Modified:09/05/2019