Plamen Iliev Awarded the Geoffrey G. Eichholz Faculty Teaching Award

Primary tabs

Plamen Iliev has recently been awarded the Geoffrey G. Eichholz Faculty Teaching Award.

This award was established in 2005 through a gift from School of Mechanical Engineering's Regents’ Professor Emeritus Geoffrey Eichholz. It was created to reward senior faculty members who made a long-term contribution to introductory undergraduate education and were outstanding teachers for students taking freshman and sophomore core courses. Recently, the award has broadened to recognize faculty at any point in their careers who excel in teaching core and general education courses, and who help students establish a solid foundation for their education at Georgia Tech.

Plamen is recognized for his care for his students, his high expectations of them, and his effective and engaging teaching. His expertise includes large lecture classes at 1000- and 2000-levels, as well as an impressive range of courses at other levels that are taken by students across the university. Whatever the subject, accolades from students are profuse about his effectiveness as a teacher.

Professor Iliev is the 5th SoM professor to recieve this award. Previous winners were:

  • Ronghua Pan, 2016,
  • Doron Lubinsky, 2010,
  • Evans Harrell, 2007, 
  • Michael Loss, 2006.


  • Workflow Status: Published
  • Created By: sbarone7
  • Created: 04/10/2019
  • Modified By: sbarone7
  • Modified: 04/12/2019


No categories were selected.

Target Audience