Richard Barke and Evan Gillon Appointed to Search Committee for Next Georgia Tech President

Primary tabs

Two members of the Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts community have been appointed by the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia to the Georgia Tech Presidential Search Committee. The are Richard Barke, associate professor and director of undergraduate studies for the Georgia Institute of Technology School of Public Policy, and Evan Gillon, a Public Policy undergraduate and president of the Undergraduate Student Government Assoication.

The Committee will conduct a national search to replace Georgia Tech President G.P. “Bud” Peterson, who will retire as president this summer.

The full Presidential Search Committee includes:

  • Regent Ben J. Tarbutton III, committee chair
  • Regent C. Dean Alford
  • Regent Laura Marsh
  • Regent Sarah-Elizabeth Reed
  • Regent Sachin Shailendra
  • Regent Thomas Rogers Wade
  • Regent Don L. Waters, chairman, Board of Regents
  • Joeleen Akin, associate athletic director, Georgia Tech Athletic Association
  • Richard Barke, Ph.D., associate professor and director of undergraduate studies, School of Public Policy, Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts
  • Nisha D. Botchwey, Ph.D. associate professor, School of City and Regional Planning, College of Design
  • John F. Brock III, CEO, Coca-Cola European Partners (retired); chair, Brock Holdings LLC
  • David Brown, Facilities Infrastructure and Power Plant; chair, Georgia Tech Staff Council
  • Andrew Cox, president, Graduate Student Government Association
  • Evan Gillon, president, Undergraduate Student Government Association
  • Samuel Graham, Ph.D., chair, Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Joseph L. A. Hughes, Ph.D., professor, School of Electrical & Computer Engineering, College of Engineering; chair, Faculty Executive Board
  • Charles Isbell Jr., Ph.D., professor and executive associate dean, College of Computing
  • Michelle Jarrard, senior partner (retired), McKinsey & Company; board member, Lazard Inc., board member, Crawford & Company
  • Julia Kubanek, Ph.D., professor and associate dean, School of Biological Sciences, College of Sciences
  • Thomas E. Noonan, chairman, TEN Holdings LLC
  • Harold R. Reynolds, CEO, BankSouth
  • Beril Toktay, Ph.D., professor of operations management, Scheller College of Business

“This is an important endeavor, and we are committed to ensuring that Georgia Tech retains a president who will continue building off its strong traditions,” said Search Committee Chair Ben Tarbutton. “Like President Peterson, the next president must continue to work closely with the Institution’s faculty, staff, students, community, and State of Georgia. I look forward to working with the committee as we work to find the right leader for Georgia Tech.”

The Presidential Search Committee, created as outlined in Board of Regents policy, will guide the first stage of the search.

The initial meeting of the Presidential Search Committee was held on February 11 at the Georgia Tech campus, during which time the members were formally charged with their roles and responsibilities in conducting the search.

The School of Public Policy is a unit of the Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts. 


  • Workflow Status:Published
  • Created By:pdemerritt3
  • Created:02/14/2019
  • Modified By:Rebecca Keane
  • Modified:02/22/2019