Catherine Ross One of Five Georgia Tech Faculty to Win Regents Recognition

Primary tabs

The University System of Georgia (USG)'s Board of Regents has appointed four Georgia Tech faculty members as Regents Professor, and one as a Regents Researcher. The titles represent the highest academic and research recognition bestowed by the USG, and demonstrate distinction and achievement in teaching and scholarly research.

The four Regents Professors are:

  • Ajay Kohli, professor and Gary T. and Elizabeth R. Jones Chair in Management in the Scheller College of Business.
  • Timothy Lieuwen, professor and David S. Lewis Jr. Chair in the School of Aerospace Engineering, and the executive director of the Strategic Energy Institute.
  • Catherine L. Ross, professor and Harry West Chair for Quality Growth and Regional Development in the School of City and Regional Planning, director of the Center for Quality Growth and Regional Development, and deputy director of the National Center for Transportation Systems Productivity and Management.
  • John Stasko, professor in the School of Interactive Computing and director of the Information Interfaces Research Group.

The Regents Researcher is:

  • Michael O. Rodgers, principal research scientist in the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering and director of the Georgia Tech Air Quality Laboratory.

“Congratulations to my esteemed colleagues on this new distinction,” said Rafael L. Bras, provost and executive vice president for Academic Affairs and the K. Harrison Brown Family Chair. “The world’s best and brightest scholars and researchers can be found at Georgia Tech, and this recognition is evidence of their relentless pursuit of excellence in teaching, research, and scholarship.

Each year, the college deans may nominate two academic faculty members for the Regents Professor title and one research faculty member for the Regents Researcher title. The Georgia Tech Research Institute may nominate two research faculty members for Regents Researcher. The titles are awarded upon approval by the USG chancellor and its Committee on Academic Affairs only with unanimous recommendation by the university’s president, the executive vice president for research, the chief academic officer, the appropriate academic dean, and three other faculty members.

The nominations were approved by the Board of Regents (BOR) at their Aug. 14 meeting. During the meeting, the BOR also approved the renewal of the title of Regents Professor for Sudhakar Yalamanchili, Joseph M. Pettit Professor in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering.


  • Workflow Status:
  • Created By:
    Malrey Head
  • Created:
  • Modified By:
    Malrey Head
  • Modified:


Target Audience

    No target audience selected.