Ivan Allen College Celebrates Faculty and Staff Achievements at Spring Luncheon

Primary tabs

Editor's Note: This article has been updated to include additional work anniversaries.

The Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts Spring Faculty and Staff Recognition Luncheon was held on April 17, 2018.

Dean Jacqueline Royster recognized the accomplishments of the College throughout the year, and highlighted 2018 as the 130th Year of Liberal Arts at Georgia Institute of Technology.

“Today, I think we can make a pretty good argument that, as a technological institution, Georgia Tech is continuing to firm up our grasp of the implications of the merging and strengthening of the linkages of liberal arts to the technological disciplines,” Dean Royster said to attendees. “After nearly 30 years as the Ivan Allen College, we are just beginning to explore the full potential of this innovation.”

Faculty members Jenna Jordan (Nunn School), Lauren Klein (LMC), and Brian Magerko (LMC) were recognized for their promotions. Both Jordan and Klein received tenure and were promoted to associate professor. Magerko was promoted to professor.

Newly promoted academic professionals were recognized Amy D’Unger (HSOC), senior academic professional and associate director of undergraduate studies, Andy Frazee (LMC), senior academic professional and associate director of the Writing and Communication program, JC Reilly (LMC), senior academic professional and associate director of undergraduate studies, John Thorton (LMC), senior academic professional and coordinator of the Video Production Lab, and Melissa Foulger (LMC), academic professional and director of DramaTech.

Recipients of the Distinguished Staff Awards, also known as “Buzz” Awards, were Kenya Devalia (LMC), Erin Green (Dean’s Office and Nunn School), Will Jimerson (Dean’s Office and LMC), Melanie Richard (LMC), Janice Russell (Dean’s Office), Yolanda Turner (Public Policy), and Joe Zima (Dean’s Office) for their administrative services. 

Associate Dean of Undergraduate Students John Tone introduced the Ivan Allen Student Advisory Board officer who presented Distinguished Teaching Awards to Chao Li (Modern Languages) and Matthew Oliver (Economics).

Dean Royster presented the Faculty Researcher Awards:  

The Gold Star – Level 1 awards recognize faculty who, for the first time, garner $100,000 or more in external research dollars. Gold Star 1 recipients are: Jason Borenstein (Public Policy), Shatakshee Dhongde (Economics), Hans Klein (Public Policy), Nathan Moon (Public Policy), Anne Pollock (LMC), Larry Rubin (Nunn School), Alasdair Young (Nunn School).

The Gold Star – Level 2 awards recognize faculty who bring in external research dollars above $100,000 subsequent to the Gold Star 1. Recipients are: Mikhail Klimenko (Economics), Margaret Kosal (Nunn School), Milton Mueller (Public Policy), and Mike Salomone and Jenna Jordan (Nunn School).

The Million Dollar Club recognizes faculty who have accumulated more than $1 million dollars in research over time. Members of the Club include: Paul Baker (Public Policy), Ian Bogost (LMC), Danny Boston (Nunn School ), Marilyn Brown (Public Policy), Carl DiSalvo and Lauren Klein (LMC), Ute Fischer (LMC), Vicki Galloway (Modern Languages), Sy Goodman (Nunn School), Chris Le Dantec and Carl DiSalvo (LMC), Brian Magerko (LMC), Julia Melkers (Public Policy), Helena Mitchell and Nathan Moon (Public Policy), Phil Shapira (Public Policy), and Adam Stulberg (Nunn School).   

Those who have obtained distinguished fellowships include: Stuart Goldberg (Modern Languages), Lauren Klein (LMC), and Lawrence Rubin (Nunn School).

A group of faculty were honored as pioneers in large external research funding for the college. “We stand today on their shoulders,” said Dean Royster in announcing the recipients: Pat McCarthy (Economics), Mary Frank Fox (Public Policy), Gordon Kingsley (Public Policy), Helena Mitchell (Public Policy), Alan Porter (Public Policy), Phil Shapira (Public Policy), Seymour Goodman (Nunn School), and Adam Stulberg (Nunn School). 

The Distinguished Faculty Researcher Award, carrying a one-time $20,000 in research funding, was awarded to Brian Magerko from the School of Literature, Media, and Communication.

The Distinguished Outstanding Service Award was awarded to Xiuxiu Yuan, a graduate research assistant in the Ivan Allen College Communications Office.

The Distinguished Staff Award recognized an employee who marks 25 years of service to the College this year, Carol Silvers, who is marketing and development coordinator in the Dean’s Office.

Also celebrating 25 years with Georgia Tech in 2018 are Greg Abrams, Financial Administrator Lead in the Dean's Office, and Mary Frank Fox, ADVANCE Professor in the School of Public Policy.

“We are moving, we are growing, and we are continuing a quality of innovation in the humanities and social sciences that is like nowhere else,” said Dean Royster. “My thanks go to all of you — faculty, staff, and students — for making it so. I encourage you to keep up the great work and have a wonderful summer.”


  • Workflow Status:Published
  • Created By:ralu3
  • Created:05/02/2018
  • Modified By:oadebola3
  • Modified:05/30/2018