TA and Future Faculty Awards Day Ceremony

Primary tabs

Join us to recognize students and postdoctoral scholars who are receiving school- and campus-wide TA Awards, Tech to Teaching and CIRTL teaching certificates, Thank-a-Teacher recognition, and recognition for other contributions to the learning environment at Georgia Tech. Award recipients and their special guests can RSVP here by Monday, April 9th. Direct questions about the event to Dr. Kate Williams at kate.williams@gatech.edu.

Registration Form

TA Awards Process

The Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) is excited to celebrate the contributions to teaching excellence at Georgia Tech made by our graduate and undergraduate teaching assistants. The 2018 award process will officially open January 1, 2018. CTL asks that all schools/departments conduct an internal competition to produce one person in each of the following categories, where applicable: (1) Graduate Student Instructor of the Year; (2) Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year; and (3) Undergraduate Teaching Assistant of the Year. Eligible candidates will have taught between Spring 2017 and Spring 2018. When we receive the names of the department winners, each will be invited to submit an application to participate in the campus-wide competition, which is overseen by CTL. All recipients of school/department awards will be honored and the campus-wide winners announced at the Spring 2018 TA and Future Faculty Awards Day ceremony.

Important Dates to Remember:

  • January 1 - February 23: Schools submit names of school/department TA award winners to CTL HERE.
  • February 2 - March 16: School-level winners who wish to compete for the campus-wide award submit application packets to CTL HERE. Letters of recommendation can be submitted HERE.
  • April 17: Campus-wide winners are announced at TA and Future Faculty Awards Day.

Contact Dr. Tammy M. McCoy at tammy.mccoy@gatech.edu with any questions.

2017 TA Award Winners

Graduate Student Instructor of the Year: Emily Alicea-Munoz, Physics

Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year: Haley Steele, Biological Sciences

Undergraduate Teaching Assistant of the Year: Jared Kleinwaechter, Mathematics

Past Winners

Graduate TA: Philip Varney, Mechanical Engineering
Graduate Student Instructor: Anthony Bonifonte, Industrial and Systems Engineering
Undergraduate TA: Bonnie Shoai, Biology

Graduate TA: Joseph Walsh, Mathematics
Graduate Student Instructor: Philip Benge, Mathematics
Undergraduate TA: Kantwon Rogers, College of Computing

Graduate TA: Allison Martin, Psychology
Graduate Student Instructor: G. James Lemoine Jr., Business
Undergraduate TA: Arun Kumar, Biomedical Engineering

Graduate TA: Ranjini Vaidyanathan, Mathematics
Graduate Student Instructor: German Retana, Business
Undergraduate TA: Andrew Travis Rogers, Mathematics

Graduate TA: Rebecca Cooper, Biology
Graduate Student Instructor: Elise Barrella, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Undergraduate TA: Melanie Dunn, Mathematics

Graduate TA: Daniel Borrero, Physics
Graduate Student Instructor: Ben Deaton, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Undergraduate TA: Aerin DeJarnette, Biology

Graduate TA: Huy Huynh, Mathematics
Graduate Student Instructor: Jill Coffin, Digital Media
Undergraduate TA: Sunny Shah, Mathematics

Graduate TA: Marcos Caballero, Physics
Graduate Student Instructor: Selma Yildirim Yolcu, Mathematics
Undergraduate TA: Laura Stilz, Mathematics

Graduate TA: Brian Jacobs, Management
Graduate Student Instructor: Mitchel Keller, Math
Undergraduate TA: Wendy Morrison, Biology

Graduate TA: Christina Carroll, Mathematics
Graduate Student Instructor: Hal Hollis, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Undergraduate TA: Karla Vincent, Biology

Graduate TA: Joanna Hass, Physics
Graduate Student Instructor: Ryan Michael Haynes, Mathematics
Undergraduate TA: Samer Tawfik, Aerospace Engineering

Note: This story was modified from http://ctl.gatech.edu/content/2017-2018-ta-awards


  • Workflow Status: Published
  • Created By: sbarone7
  • Created: 04/13/2018
  • Modified By: sbarone7
  • Modified: 04/13/2018


No categories were selected.