HSOC Leads National Society for History and Technology Annual Meeting

Primary tabs

HSOC was well-represented at the Society for History of Technology (SHOT) annual meeting in Philadelphia this October by both faculty and graduate students.

Four faculty members attended: John Krige, Steve Usselman, Kristie Macrakis, and Eric Schatzberg. John Krige oversaw and organized the meeting as president of SHOT (2017 - 18) and hosted various receptions, including the Graduate Student Party sponsored by HSOC. Krige, Schatzberg, and Usselman presented papers at panels and round tables on subjects ranging from the concept of technology during the 1960s to export controls during the Cold War attended.

HSOC graduate students were very active in the meeting. Five graduate students organized panels and presented papers: Kera Allen, Mario Biachini, Alice Clifton, Joe Lupton, Christopher Zakroff. Topics of these papers and panels included messenger pigeons, supersonic air travel in the Soviet Union, container shipping, race and gender in the workforce, and model trains and the utopian future in East Germany. Several other graduate students attended, including Jonah Bea-Taylor and Peter Westin. Anne Pollock, associate professor in Literature, Media, and Communication also presented a paper.


  • Workflow Status: Published
  • Created By: Kayleigh Haskin
  • Created: 11/20/2017
  • Modified By: Rebecca Keane
  • Modified: 12/20/2017


No categories were selected.

Target Audience

No target audience selected.