33 Scholarships Awarded to Biomedical Engineering Students


Walter Rich

Sidebar Content
No sidebar content submitted.

Summary Sentence:

Women in Engineering Awards BME Scholarships

Full Summary:

No summary paragraph submitted.

  • A group of Georgia Tech's Women in Engineering members. A group of Georgia Tech's Women in Engineering members.

Georgia Tech’s Women in Engineering (WIE) program recently awarded 33 scholarships to undergraduate biomedical engineering students. The Georgia Tech Women in Engineering (WIE) program is dedicated to recruiting top female students into engineering majors. WIE is run by faculty and staff out of the College of Engineering (CoE) dean’s office, and exists to serve the needs of all women engineering students at Georgia Tech. Female CoE students are automatically associated with WIE.


These scholarships are awarded based on academic excellence, financial need, and involvement with women-focused professional organizations such as WIE and the Society of Women Engineers as well as other criteria (major, GPA, and citizenship) specified by each of the corporate sponsors. The application for these scholarships becomes available each year in mid-January.


Please join us in congratulating this year’s WIE biomedical engineering student scholarship recipients.



Areeba Abid, Junior -- Lyall Endowment

Isha Bhatia, Sophomore -- Danaher

Emma Blume, Senior, -- Angela Calvin

Julie Bu, Senior -- Angela Calvin

Savannah Carlsen, Senior -- George Family Foundation

Raeedah Choudhury, Senior -- Miller Endowment

Sierra Copner, Sophomore -- Kimberly-Clark

Manasi Deshpande, Senior -- Eli Lilly

Hannah Geil, Sophomore -- Danaher

Meghana Holegadde, Junior -- Brooks Endowment

Fatima Islam, Senior -- Prucka Endowment

Alyssa Jackson, Senior -- Angela Calvin

Elizabeth Kappler, Sophomore -- Abbott

Argyro Kosmakos, Senior -- Gasser Endowment

Makenna Laffey, Sophomore -- Storey Endowment

Maite Marin-Mera, Sophomore -- Storey Endowment

Elsa Mathew, Senior -- George Family Foundation

Kylee McLain, Senior -- Abbott

Laura Meyer, Sophomore -- Miller Endowment

Aida Mokube, Senior -- George Family Foundation

Jillian Ortner, Sophomore -- Eli Lilly

Pearly Pandya, Senior -- Abbott

Elise Pippert, Senior -- Lyall Endowment

Archana Premkumar, Junior -- Ligon Endowment

Katherine Richardson, Senior -- Lyall Endowment

Monali Shah, Senior -- Prucka Endowment

Anupama Shah, Sophomore -- Storey Endowment

Ann Stringer, Junior -- Prucka Endowment

Kathleen Szabo, Junior -- Eli Lilly

Oviya Thanigaivelan, Senior -- George Family Foundation

Caroline Ware, Junior -- Miller Endowment

Alice Win, Junior -- Axion BioSystems

Allison Wong, Junior -- Storey Endowment


Media Contact:
Walter Rich
Communications Manager
Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology

Additional Information


Wallace H. Coulter Dept. of Biomedical Engineering

Biotechnology, Health, Bioengineering, Genetics
Related Core Research Areas
Bioengineering and Bioscience
Newsroom Topics
No newsroom topics were selected.
  • Created By: Walter Rich
  • Workflow Status: Published
  • Created On: Apr 20, 2017 - 11:02am
  • Last Updated: Apr 20, 2017 - 11:02am