Murray and Bogost Elected to Higher Education Video Game Alliance Fellows Program

Primary tabs

Janet Murray and Ian Bogost, professors in the Ivan Allen College School of Literature, Media, and Communication (LMC), have been elected to the inaugural cohort of the Higher Education Video Game Alliance (HEVGA) Fellows program.

Murray and Bogost are among the 30 scholars in the Fellows program who have been recognized for outstanding contributions to games-based research and design in higher education. Former LMC faculty members Michael Mateas (University of California, Santa Cruz), Celia Pearce (Northeastern University), and John Sharp (The New School) were also elected to the program. 

Fellows are inducted as lifetime members and serve as ambassadors for HEVGA.

Murray, the Ivan Allen College’s Associate Dean for Research, taught one of the first humanities-based courses in game design at Georgia Tech in 2002, and her Experimental Television Lab has recently expanded to pursue projects pertaining to virtual reality storytelling. Bogost, the Ivan Allen College Distinguished Chair in Media Studies, is an award-winning game designer and a leading scholar on gaming culture.

Murray and Bogost recently participated in panels at New York University and the College Art Association Annual Conference to discuss the 20th anniversary of Hamlet on the Holodeck, Murray’s groundbreaking book on interactive narratives that helped shape game studies as a discipline.


  • Workflow Status:Published
  • Created By:Daniel Singer
  • Created:02/28/2017
  • Modified By:Rebecca Keane
  • Modified:03/30/2017