President Barack Obama Reappoints Mostafa A. El-Sayed to Key Administration Post

Primary tabs

President Barack Obama has renewed the appointment of Georgia Institute of Technology Regents’ Professor, Julius Brown Chair, and School of Chemistry and Biochemistry Professor Mostafa A. El-Sayed to the President’s Committee on the National Medal of Science. El-Sayed was first named a member of this committee in 2014. The committee consists of 12 scientists and engineers. Its members are chosen by the president to evaluate award nominees.

The National Medal of Science is given to individuals deserving of special recognition for their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, engineering, social, or behavioral sciences. El-Sayed received the 2007 National Medal of Science in Chemistry.

“This reappointment is high recognition of Mostafa’s stature as a national scientist and a source of deep pride for us in the College of Sciences and all of Georgia Tech,” says College of Sciences Dean Paul M. Goldbart

El-Sayed has directed the Laser Dynamics Lab since 1996.  He was the editor-in-chief of the Journal of Physical Chemistry from 1980 to 2004.  

He is a member of the National Academy of Science and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Physical Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Chemical Society. 

In naming El-Sayed and 14 others to various administration posts, President Obama said, “These fine public servants bring a depth of experience and tremendous dedication to their important roles. I look forward to working with them.”


  • Workflow Status:
  • Created By:
    A. Maureen Rouhi
  • Created:
  • Modified By:
    A. Maureen Rouhi
  • Modified:


    No categories were selected.

Target Audience

    No target audience selected.