Timothy Cope Named to NIH Study Section

Primary tabs

Timothy C. Cope, a professor in the School of Biological Sciences and the Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering and a member of the Parker H. Petit Institute for Bioengineering and Bioscience, has been appointed to the Clinical Neuroplasticity and Neurotransmitters (CNNT) Study Section at the Center for Scientific Review, a branch of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

According to NIH, the CNNT Study Section “reviews applications describing small animal and subhuman primate models of epilepsy, neurodegeneration (Parkinson’s disease, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, diabetic neuropathies) and spinal cord injury.”

"I see study section service as an important responsibility,” Cope says. “It's also a valuable opportunity to learn how fields are trending and to stay up with conceptual and technical advances.”

Cope will serve on the study section until June 30, 2020. During his tenure, he will review grant applications submitted to the NIH, make recommendations on these applications to the appropriate NIH national advisory council or board, and survey the status of research in the field.

“These functions are of great value to medical and allied research in this country,” says Richard Nakamura, the director of the Center for Scientific Review. “Membership on a study section represents a major commitment of professional time and energy, as well as a unique opportunity to contribute to the national biomedical research effort.”

“We’re proud every time one of our faculty members is chosen for study section service,” says J. Todd Streelman, chair of the School of Biological Sciences. “For Tim in particular, it means that he is well-respected by his peers and by the NIH. Study section service is hard work, but it’s rewarding to be part of the process.”

Streelman himself serves on the Skeletal Biology Development and Disease (SBDD) Study Section. Other School of Biological Sciences faculty members who serve on NIH study sections are Hang Lu, Enabling Bioanalytical and Imaging Technologies (EBIT) Study Section;  Eric A. Gaucher, Genetic Variation and Evolution (GVE) Study Section; Lewis A. Wheaton, Risk, Prevention and Health Behavior (RPHB) Integrated Review Group; and M.G. Finn, Nanotechnology (NANO) Study Section.

Scott Smith

Student Assistant

College of Sciences


  • Workflow Status: Published
  • Created By: Scotty Smith
  • Created: 08/04/2016
  • Modified By: Fletcher Moore
  • Modified: 10/07/2016

Target Audience

No target audience selected.