Annual Luncheon Honors Outstanding Employees

Primary tabs

Georgia Tech boasts some of the finest faculty and staff members in higher education, and each year it honors some of them at the annual Faculty and Staff Honors Luncheon.

This year's event took place on April 22 in the Student Center Ballroom. Read on to see who from Tech's employee community was honored this year.

Georgia Tech Chapter Sigma Xi Awards

Best Faculty Paper Awards

  • Baratunde A. Cola, Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
  • Younan Xia, Professor, Biomedical Engineering

Young Faculty Awards

  • Nga Lee “Sally” Ng, Assistant Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Hua Wang, Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Sustained Research Award

  • Peter J. Webster, Professor, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

Institute Research Awards

Outstanding Achievement in Research Enterprise Enhancement Award

  • Gary Spinner, Senior Assistant Director, Institute for Electronics and Nanotechnology

Outstanding Achievement in Research Innovation Award

  • Zhong Lin Wang, Regents Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Advisor Award

  • Hang Lu, Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Outstanding Faculty Research Author Award

  • Mark Hay, Regents Professor, Biology

Outstanding Achievement in Research Program Development Award
Marcus Center for Therapeutic Cell Characterization and Manufacturing Team

  • Ravi V. Bellamkonda, Wallace H. Coulter Chair, Biomedical Engineering
  • Birgit Smith Burton, Senior Director, Foundation Relations, Office of Development
  • Robert E. Guldberg, Professor, Petit Institute for Bioengineering and Biosience
  • Krishnendu Roy, Professor, Biomedical Engineering

ANAK Award

  • Richard DeMillo, Executive Director, Center for 21st Century Universities

Staff Performance Awards

Entrepreneurship Award

  • Madison Cario, Director of the Office of the Arts, Division of Student Life

Innovation Award
College of Sciences/College of Engineering Partnership Team

  • Dian A. Chung, Human Resources Director II, College of Sciences
  • Emily I. Howell, Director of Financial Administration, College of Engineering
  • Lynda D. House, Human Resources Director II, College of Engineering
  • David L. Moore, Senior Finance Director, College of Sciences

Process Improvement Excellence Award
Coulter Department Pre-Award Office Team, Biomedical Engineering

  • Rachel D. Arnold, Assistant Director of Administrative Operations
  • Jeff F. Caimano, Grants Administrator

Service to the Community Award

  • Alba C. Gutierrez, Educational Outreach Coordinator, Center for Education Integrating Science, Mathematics, and Computing

Staff Leadership Award
Event Coordinators' Network Leadership Team

  • Lucianna Renée Brown, Executive Assistant to the Executive Vice President, Administration and Finance
  • Barb A. Dockweiler, Associate Director – Development Stewardship, Athletic Association, Alexander-Tharpe Fund
  • LaJauna F. Ellis, Executive Assistant to the Dean, College of Engineering
  • Julie G. Hawkins, Donor Relations Associate, Stewardship and Campaign Event Coordinator, Office of Development
  • Nicole H. Little, Communications Program Manager, Institute for Leadership and Entrepreneurship
  • Laura S. Pusateri, Meeting and Event Manager II, Institute Communications
  • Catherine Shaw, Senior Professional Education Portfolio Manager, Georgia Tech Professional Education
  • Stephanie L. Sigler, Event and Administrative Coordinator, Institute Communications
  • Felicia A. Turner, Academic Program Coordinator II, Center for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning
  • Serena F. Wallace, Event Coordinator II, Institute Communications

Outstanding Management in Action Award

  • Lindsay M. Bryant, Associate Director of Student Center Programs and Interim Director, Student Center

Administrative Excellence Award

  • Walter G. Kolis, Assistant Director of Member Services and Staff Development, Campus Recreation Center

CETL Awards

CETL/BP Junior Faculty Teaching Excellence Awards

  • Mark A. Davenport, Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Ryan P. Lively, Assistant Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Undergraduate Educator Award

  • Ed Greco, Academic Professional, Physics

Curriculum Innovation Award

  • Karie D. Davis-Nozemack, Assistant Director, Scheller College of Business

Innovation and Excellence in Laboratory Instruction Award

  • Chrissy C. Spencer, Academic Professional, Biology

Innovation in Co-Curricular Education Award

  • Wilbur A. Lam, Adjunct Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering

Faculty Award for Academic Outreach

  • Thomas Morley, Professor, Mathematics

Geoffrey G. Eichholz Faculty Teaching Awards

  • David Garton, Senior Lecturer, Biology
  • Ronghua Pan, Professor, Mathematics

Academic Advisor Awards

Outstanding Graduate Academic Advising Award

  • Robert B. Simon, Graduate Programs Manager, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Outstanding Undergraduate Academic Advising Award – Primary Role

  • Ami B. Waller-Ivanecky, Academic Advising Manager, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Outstanding Undergraduate Academic Advising – Faculty Advisor

  • Dana E. Hartley, Senior Academic Professional, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

International Initiatives Award

Steven A. Denning Faculty Award for Global Engagement
Center for Health and Humanitarian Systems Team, Industrial and Systems Engineering

  • Pinar Keskinocak, Professor
  • Julie L. Swann, Professor

Faculty Honors Committee Awards

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor Awards

  • Cassie S. Mitchell, Research Engineer II, Biomedical Engineering
  • Robert J. Butera, Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Outstanding Professional Education Award

  • Sathya Gourisankar, Professor of the Practice, Biomedical Engineering

Class of 1934 Outstanding Service Award

  • Terry C. Blum, Professor, Institute for Leadership and Entrepreneurship

Class of 1934 Outstanding Interdisciplinary Activities Award

  • Eberhard O. Voit, Professor, Biomedical Engineering

Class of 1940 W. Roane Beard Outstanding Teacher Award

  • A. Nepomuk Otte, Assistant Professor, Physics
  • Joseph H. Saleh, Associate Professor, Aerospace Engineering

Class of 1940 W. Howard Ector Outstanding Teacher Award

  • Aldo A. Ferri, Professor and Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies, Mechanical Engineering

Class of 1934 Distinguished Professor Award

  • Robin Thomas, Regents Professor, Mathematics



  • Workflow Status:
  • Created By:
    Kristen Bailey
  • Created:
  • Modified By:
    Fletcher Moore
  • Modified:

Target Audience

    No target audience selected.