The College of Computing Honors Exceptional Students, Faculty, and Staff

No contact information submitted.
Sidebar Content
No sidebar content submitted.

Summary Sentence:

No summary sentence submitted.

Full Summary:

CoC hosted its 15th Annual Awards Celebration to congratulate everyone on another exciting and productive year.

The College of Computing (CoC) hosted its 15th Annual Awards Celebration on April 11, 2006. Master of Ceremony and CoC Dean Rich DeMillo was assisted by Associate Dean and Honors & Awards Chair Merrick Furst in congratulating students, faculty, and staff on another exciting and productive year.

The 2005-2006 Undergraduate Awards included:

  • Outstanding Freshman - Jeffrey David Starker II
  • Outstanding Sophomore - Joshua Isaac Silver
  • Outstanding Junior - Kathy Pham
  • Outstanding Undergraduate - Robert Ian Fitzpatrick
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Assistant - Blake Patrick O’Hare
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Research Assistant - Andrew Russell Guillory
  • The Dave & Carrie Armento Scholarship - Joseph Chester Hardy
    Established to award an African-American computer science major who is a Georgia resident.
  • The Bierne M. Prager Scholarship - James Richard Bailey
    Established to award an undergraduate student from Shelby County, Tennessee.

*Fifty-nine CoC undergraduate students qualify to graduate with honors this spring.

The 2005-2006 Graduate Awards included:

  • Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant - Ryan Riegel
  • Outstanding Graduate Research Assistant - Xiaotong Zhuang
  • The Donald V. Jackson Fellowship - Mitchell Halpin
    This Fellowship supports the master’s program and is awarded to a well-rounded computer science student who best embodies values of academic excellence and leadership.
  • The Marshall D. Williamson Fellowship - Summer Adams
    This Fellowship supports the master’s program and is awarded to a well-rounded student who best embodies values of academic excellence and leadership.

The 2005-2006 Research Awards included:

  • Outstanding Junior Faculty Research - Jun (Jim) Xu
  • Outstanding Senior Faculty Research Award - Dana Randall and Gregory Abowd
  • The Raytheon Faculty Fellowship - Subhash Khot
    This Fellowship is an annual $20,000 seed grant designed to foster and encourage collaborative activities among CoC faculty members and to further promote a sense of community within the college.

The 2005-2006 Faculty Awards included:

  • William A. “Gus” Baird Faculty Teaching Award - Charles Isbell
    This award is to honor a faculty member who is recognized by his or her peers for excellence in teaching.

  • The Peter A. Freeman Faculty Award – Richard Fujimoto
    This award is presented annually to a member of the faculty who has demonstrated the entrepreneurial spirit for which the founding Dean, Peter A. Freeman, was known.
  • The Dean’s Award – Mark Guzdial, Charles Isbell, and Tom Pilsch
    This award was given for their dedication and implementation of the Threads™ Program, CoC’s revolutionary approach to undergraduate education.
  • Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Advisor Award – Mostafa Ammar
    This award is presented by the Georgia Institute of Technology to recognize the achievements of a faculty member’s doctoral students who completed all degree requirements from January 1, 2001, to December 31, 2005.

The 2005-2006 Staff Awards included:

  • Outstanding Support and Service - LerVerne Davis (Accountant III), Ylonda Moore (Administrative Coordinator), and Becky Wilson (Academic Advisor I).

The 2005-2006 Corporate Awards included:

Verizon Fellowships

Steven Dalton - Senior
Sonia Ross - Junior
Katherine Finn - Sophomore
Matias Ganc -  MS
Ralph Ware -  MS
Angela Navarro - MS

Boeing Scholarships

Aaron St. Clair - Sophomore
Amanda Ladd - Freshman
Kathy Pham - Junior

Intel Scholars

Jan Anderson
Matthew Benford
Mary Donnelly
Mina Doroudi
Brittany Duncan
Andrew Durso
Megan Elmore
Katherine Finn
Matthew Fong
Jordan Garner
Anne Hewitt
Christina Lacey
Amanda Ladd
Vanessa Larco
Priyanka Mahalanabis
Uzo Okafor
Kelly Poulo
Kate Rosier
Aaron St. Clair
Megan Thomas
Logan Anthony Thomas
Sweta Vajja
Dana VanDevender
Jenelle Walker
Crystal Wren

Microsoft Trustworthy Computing Scholars

Kandha Shankrapandian
Vijay Arvind Balasumramaniam

IBM Research Fellowship

Gillian Hayes

IBM Faculty Award

Bill Rouse

NSF Career Awards

Milos Prvulovic
Frank Dellaert
Sasha Boldrveva

NSF Scholarship Service Awards

Adam Berstein
Christopher Lewis
David Mann
Michael Norris
Christopher Scott
Frederick Young

Tracey Diamond
Megan Kirk
Jessica Kirk
Pritesh Patel
Rachel Post
Jennifer Stoll
Jason Trost
Josh Zaritski

The College of Computing also recognized this year’s generous supporters which include:

The 2005-2006 Industrial Partner’s Association

Armedia, LLC
Auto Trader
Care Centric
Cisco Systems
Cox Interactive Media
Federated Department Stores, Inc.
Harris Corporation
Intel Corporation
Internet Security Systems
Lockheed Martin
LSI Logic
Manheim Interactive
Patient Care Technologies, Inc.
SPI Dynamics
TCS America
Telcordia Technologies

Additional Information


College of Computing

No categories were selected.
Related Core Research Areas
No core research areas were selected.
Newsroom Topics
No newsroom topics were selected.
No keywords were submitted.
  • Created By: Louise Russo
  • Workflow Status: Published
  • Created On: Feb 9, 2010 - 4:47pm
  • Last Updated: Oct 7, 2016 - 11:05pm