AE's Dr. Julian Rimoli selected for Lockheed Dean's Excellence Award

Primary tabs

AE faculty Dr. Julian Rimoli has been selected as one of the 2014 recipients of the Lockheed Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. Formal bestowal of the honor will take place during a banquet to be held in March or April.

“We are pleased to recognize the talent and energy that Dr. Rimoli brings to his work,” said College of Engineering Dean Gary S. May. “These awards recognize extraordinary effectiveness in classroom teaching, educational innovations, and involvement with students. The generosity and leadership of the Lockheed Martin Company has made these awards possible.”

The Lockheed Dean’s Award annually recognizes untenured junior faculty whose extraordinary effectiveness in classroom teaching and educational innovation is evidenced in the success and impact of their students’ postgraduate careers. Past recipients of this prestigious award include AE’s Dr. Brian German and Dr. Joseph Saleh.

Recipients of the Lockheed Dean’s Award are given a generous stipend by Lockheed Martin which they may use to further their research and professional interests.

A member of the AE faculty since 2011, Rimoli earned aeronautics degrees from Argentina’s Universidad Nacional de La Plata and the California Institute of Technology before accepting a post-doctoral assignment at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2009. His research interests include computational solid mechanics with particular focus on aerospace applications. He has a special interest in problems involving multiple length and time scales, and in the development of theories and computational techniques for seamlessly bridging those scales.

Lately, people from around the world have come to know Rimoli’s work through Truss Me!, an educational app he created for iPhones and iPads. Played like any computer game, Truss Me! teaches students from middle school through college how to develop a more intuitive mastery of truss behavior.

Rimoli is a member of AIAA, ASME, and USACM and is the recipient of the Donald W. Douglas Prize Fellowship, the Ernest E. Sechler Memorial Award in Aeronautics, and the James Clerk Maxwell Young Writers Prize.



  • Workflow Status:
  • Created By:
    Britanny Grace
  • Created:
  • Modified By:
    Fletcher Moore
  • Modified:

Target Audience

    No target audience selected.