Sea Level Rise Studio Wins American Planning Association Student Project Award

Primary tabs

Georgia Tech School of City and Regional Planning alumni Gillam Campbell, Marvin Clermont, Kate Colberg, Richelle Gosman, Anna Harkness, Amy Moore, Paul Lorenc, Dzung Nguyen, Jennifer Yun, and Joy Zhou received one of three national American Planning Association (APA) Student Project Awards for contribution of planning to contemporary issues for their Fall 2012 studio, Tracking the Effects of Sea Level Rise in Georgia's Coastal Communities. The studio, supervised by Professor Emeritus Larry Keating and Ph.D. candidate Dana Habeeb, and completed with support from the Georgia Conservancy's Blueprints program, investigates likely impacts of sea level ris in Georgia's Chatham, Liberty, and McIntosh counties and outlines adaptation opportunities with focus on low-income communities.  

This is the third Georgia Tech studio to receive the Student Project Award. The previous two winners were the 2011 planning studio Action Plan for Ft. MacPherson led by Professor of Practice Michael Dobbins, and the 1994 planning studio Hahira Town Plan led by Richard Dagenhart and Arthur C. Nelson. The national APA Student Project Awards were presented during the 2014 APA national conference in Atlanta at the APA/AICP Annual Meeting and Leadership Honors Ceremony on April 29, 2014.


  • Workflow Status:Published
  • Created By:Kyle James
  • Created:05/04/2014
  • Modified By:Fletcher Moore
  • Modified:10/07/2016


  • No categories were selected.