Royster Named Rhetoric Society Fellow and Receives Horner Book Award

Primary tabs

Jacqueline J. Royster, dean of the Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts, has been named a fellow of the Rhetoric Society of America (RSA) in recognition of her sustained and distinguished scholarship, teaching, and service to the field of rhetoric studies.

RSA fellows have produced scholarship in rhetorical studies that is remarkable for its quality and quantity, participated in the work of the RSA, and worked to increase the visibility and influence of rhetorical studies through public lectures, teaching, advocacy, or other activities.

Dean Royster has also been awarded the 2014 Winifred Bryan Horner Outstanding Book Award for her co-authored book Feminist Rhetorical Practices: New Horizons for Rhetoric, Composition, and Literacy Studies. Royster and co-author Gesa E. Kirsch were presented the award at the annual convention of the Conference on College Composition and Communication (CCCC), the largest and most prestigious national gathering of scholars in rhetoric, composition, and literacy studies. The award is presented biannually for work in the field of composition and rhetoric to recognize outstanding scholarship and research in the areas of feminist pedagogy, practice, history, and theory. It is awarded by the Coalition of Women Scholars in the History of Rhetoric and Composition (CWSHRC).  

Royster Biography


  • Workflow Status:
  • Created By:
    Beth Godfrey
  • Created:
  • Modified By:
    Fletcher Moore
  • Modified:

Target Audience

    No target audience selected.