Petit Institute Announces 2014 Class of Petit Scholars

Primary tabs

The Parker H. Petit Institute for Bioengineering and Bioscience at Georgia Tech announces its 2014 class of Petit Undergraduate Research Scholars.  The "Petit Scholars" are top undergraduate students from Atlanta-area universities who are selecdted from a highly competitive selection process to conduct independent research projects for a full year at the Petit Institute.

In its fifteenth year, over $50,000 was raised to support the program which has now soared to support 20 new scholars in 2014.

From January through December of 2014, each of the 20 scholars will be mentored by a graduate student or postdoctoral fellow in a Petit Institute laboratory.  During this period, the scholars will work to develop their own research projects which they themselves have selected after a thorough interview process with potential mentors.  Research is conducted within the areas of cancer biology, biomaterials, drug design, development and delivery, molecular evolution, molecular cellular and tissue biomechanics, regenerative medicine, stem cell engineering and systems biology.  Many scholars will have made enough progress in their research by the end of the year to participate on scientific publications and/or present at conferences.  

The class of 2014 is represented by students from Georgia Tech, Emory University and Morehouse College:

Kaitlin Ahlstedt (Chemistry/Biochemistry) - Georgia Tech
Dexter Allen (Neuroscience & Behavioral Biology) - Emory University
Kevin Bai (Biomedical Engineering) - Georgia Tech
Kristin Casey (Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering) - Georgia Tech
Destiny Cobb (Biomedical Engineering) - Georgia Tech
Maria Diaz Ortiz (Biomedical Engineering) - Georgia Tech
Shohini Ghosh-Choudhary (Biomedical Engineering) - Georgia Tech
Conner Herndon (Math & Physics) - Georgia Tech
Changdae Lee (Electrical & Computer Engineering) - Georgia Tech
Ashley Lockwood (Biology) - Georgia Tech
Jung Mok (Biology) - Georgia Tech
Rafael Ortiz (Biomedical Engineering) - Georgia Tech
Alejandro Sanchez (Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering) - Georgia Tech
Brian Sanner (Biomedical Engineering) - Georgia Tech
Peter Schnaak (Chemistry/Biochemistry) - Georgia Tech
Jake Sebring (Biomedical Engineering) - Georgia Tech
Sraeyes Sridhar (Biomedical Engineering) - Georgia Tech
Lambros Tassoulas (Biology) - Georgia Tech
Evan Teng (Biomedical Engineering) - Georgia Tech
Thibault Twahirwa (Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science) - Morehouse College

Funding for the Petit Scholars is supported by Atlanta area community members, including the Friends of the Petit Institute, as well as corporate sponsorship.  Funds for the 2014 class were provided by Children's Healthcare of Atlanta, Beckman Coulter Foundation, Medtronic, Jim and Sarah Borders, Karl Dasher, Terry and Sharon Dewberry, Bob and Tina Guldberg, The Kolpitcke Family, Bob and Marily Nerem, Henry and Mary Pruitt, Tom Stribling, and Bill and Carol Taylor.  If you are interested in donating to this valuable program, please contact us.


  • Workflow Status:
  • Created By:
    Colly Mitchell
  • Created:
  • Modified By:
    Fletcher Moore
  • Modified:


    No categories were selected.


Target Audience

    No target audience selected.