James Dean Young Banquet


Sidebar Content
No sidebar content submitted.

Summary Sentence:

No summary sentence submitted.

Full Summary:

No summary paragraph submitted.

  • Doris Bremm 2 Doris Bremm 2
  • Leah Haugh Leah Haugh
  • Christine Hoffman Christine Hoffman
  • Diane Jakacki Diane Jakacki

Every year, the Writing and Communication Program gives several awards for students and for Brittain Fellows:

The Writing and Communication Program's Student Awards recognize excellence in innovative individual or collaborative WOVEN projects. Effective projects integrate several aspects of multimodal communication—written, oral, visual, electronic­, nonverbal. The following projects received awards:

  • Award for Excellence in WOVEN Communication in English 1101
    Brandon Scott Byers, Matthew Gerard Egan, William Conner Guinn, Weiyu Liu, and Rupert Wu. Instructor: Dr. Doris Bremm
  • Award for Excellence in WOVEN Communication in English 1102
    Derrick Pearce Coogler, Micah Emilia Hosford, and Jae Kyung Han. Instructor: Dr. Christine Hoffmann
The Writing and Communication Program's Awards in Pedagogy and in Multimodal Innovation celebrate the work of Brittain Fellows:
  • The Award for Excellence in Pedagogy recognizes overall excellence in pedagogy: excellent classroom performance, creative curriculum development, high levels of student engagement, productive use of Georgia Tech and metro-Altanta resources, excellence in formative assessment and summative evaluation, scholarly and/or research projects related to pedagogy, and pedagogical presentations and/or publications. Dr. Doris Bremm and Dr. Leah Haught received the 2013 Awards for Excellence in Pedagogy.
  • The Award for Excellence in Multimodal Innovation recognizes multimodal innovation: innovative use of new media for student learning, creative multimodal activities and assignments, approaches that inspire students to take intellectual risks, exploration in multimodal communication leading to scholarly presentation and/or publication. The 2013 Award for Excellence in Multimodal Innovation went to Dr. Diane Jakacki.

Additional Information


School of Literature, Media, and Communication

No categories were selected.
Related Core Research Areas
No core research areas were selected.
Newsroom Topics
No newsroom topics were selected.
innovation, multimodality, Writing and Communication
  • Created By: Carol Senf
  • Workflow Status: Published
  • Created On: Apr 19, 2013 - 7:05am
  • Last Updated: Oct 7, 2016 - 11:14pm