ASTOUNDING ELEMENTS: Celebrating the Periodic Table

Event Details
  • Dates/Times:
    • Tuesday October 29, 2019
      All Day
    • Wednesday October 30, 2019
      All Day
    • Thursday October 31, 2019
      All Day
    • Friday November 1, 2019
      All Day
    • Saturday November 2, 2019
      All Day
    • Sunday November 3, 2019
      All Day
    • Monday November 4, 2019
      All Day
    • Tuesday November 5, 2019
      All Day
    • Wednesday November 6, 2019
      All Day
    • Thursday November 7, 2019
      All Day
    • Friday November 8, 2019
      All Day
    • Saturday November 9, 2019
      All Day
    • Sunday November 10, 2019
      All Day
    • Monday November 11, 2019
      All Day
    • Tuesday November 12, 2019
      All Day
    • Wednesday November 13, 2019
      All Day
    • Thursday November 14, 2019
      All Day
    • Friday November 15, 2019
      All Day
    • Saturday November 16, 2019
      All Day
    • Sunday November 17, 2019
      All Day
    • Monday November 18, 2019
      All Day
    • Tuesday November 19, 2019
      All Day
    • Wednesday November 20, 2019
      All Day
    • Thursday November 21, 2019
      All Day
    • Friday November 22, 2019
      All Day
    • Saturday November 23, 2019
      All Day
    • Sunday November 24, 2019
      All Day
    • Monday November 25, 2019
      All Day
    • Tuesday November 26, 2019
      All Day
    • Wednesday November 27, 2019
      All Day
    • Saturday November 30, 2019
      All Day
    • Sunday December 1, 2019
      All Day
    • Monday December 2, 2019
      All Day
    • Tuesday December 3, 2019
      All Day
    • Wednesday December 4, 2019
      All Day
    • Thursday December 5, 2019
      All Day
    • Friday December 6, 2019
      All Day
    • Saturday December 7, 2019
      All Day
    • Sunday December 8, 2019
      All Day
    • Monday December 9, 2019
      All Day
    • Tuesday December 10, 2019
      All Day
    • Wednesday December 11, 2019
      All Day
    • Thursday December 12, 2019
      All Day
    • Friday December 13, 2019
      All Day
    • Saturday December 14, 2019
      All Day
    • Sunday December 15, 2019
      All Day
    • Monday December 16, 2019
      All Day
    • Tuesday December 17, 2019
      All Day
    • Wednesday December 18, 2019
      All Day
    • Thursday December 19, 2019
      All Day
    • Friday December 20, 2019
      All Day
    • Saturday December 21, 2019
      All Day
    • Sunday December 22, 2019
      All Day
    • Saturday December 28, 2019
      All Day
    • Sunday December 29, 2019
      All Day
    • Monday December 30, 2019
      All Day
    • Tuesday December 31, 2019
      All Day
  • Location: Crosland Tower, 249-371 Bobby Dodd Way NW, Atlanta, GA 30313
  • Phone:
  • URL:
  • Email:
  • Fee(s):
    Free and open to the public
  • Extras:
Contact

A. Maureen Rouhi, Ph.D.
Director of Communications
College of Sciences

Summaries

Summary Sentence: A Georgia Tech exhibit celebrating the International Year of the Periodic Table

Full Summary: Georgia Tech's year-long celebration of the periodic table culminates in an exhibit that features chemical elements in fiction and highlights objects from Georgia Tech periodic table events throughout the year. The exhibit will be on display until Dec. 31, 2019.

Media
  • ASTOUNDING ELEMENTS: An exhibit celebrating the periodic table ASTOUNDING ELEMENTS: An exhibit celebrating the periodic table
    (image/png)

The College of Sciences; the School of Literature, Media, and Communication; and the Georgia Tech Library invite all to the exhibit ASTOUNDING ELEMENTS: Celebrating the Periodic Table.

Since January, the College of Sciences has been hosting lectures, events, and activities to acknowledge the 150-year-long contribution of the periodic table to science. In collaboration with campus partners, the College of Sciences has brought the periodic table and chemical elements to the attention of the Georgia Tech community and the public through arts, athletics, academics, and fun. ASTOUNDING ELEMENTS brings many of these pieces together, including:

  • Elements in science fiction, in collaboration with the School of Literature, Media, and Communication
  • Periodic table makeover: design and prototypes, in collaboration with the School of Industrial Design, College of Design
  • Art inspired by the periodic table and chemical elements, in collaboration with the Georgia Tech Office of the Arts
  • Scavenger Hunt: buildings and element partners, in collaboration with various building managers on campus
  • Favorite elements of Georgia Tech students, faculty, and staff

 

Related Links

Additional Information

In Campus Calendar
Yes
Groups

College of Sciences, EAS, School of Biological Sciences, School of Chemistry and Biochemistry, School of Mathematics, School of Physics, School of Psychology

Invited Audience
Faculty/Staff, Postdoc, Public, Graduate students, Undergraduate students
Categories
Other/Miscellaneous
Keywords
#IYPTGT2019 IYPT2019 periodic table, Crosland Tower exhibit
Status
  • Created By: A. Maureen Rouhi
  • Workflow Status: Published
  • Created On: Oct 12, 2019 - 10:05pm
  • Last Updated: Oct 28, 2019 - 6:15pm