Up with the White and Gold Ceremony Honors Students, Staff, Faculty


Kristen Bailey
Institute Communications

Sidebar Content
No sidebar content submitted.

Summary Sentence:

Students, faculty, staff and campus organizations were honored at Up with the White and Gold.

Full Summary:

Students, faculty, staff and student organizations were honored for their service to each other and to the Institute at the annual Up with the White and Gold awards ceremony on Monday, April 22.

The end of the academic year is a time filled with honors and awards. One such event that celebrates members of the Tech community is the Up With the White and Gold awards, held each spring by Georgia Tech Student Ambassadors and President's Council Governing Board, with support from the Office of Leadership & Civic Engagement and the Georgia Tech Alumni Association. The ceremony honors Tech’s finest student leaders, as well as the faculty and staff who have contributed to and enhanced the student experience at Georgia Tech. 

The following groups or organizations honored members of the campus community for their service to students: 

Center for Academic Enrichment

  • Katie Kutner and Mark Allen, Outstanding GT1000 Team Leader

Society of Women Engineers

  • Hannah Chang, Georgette P. Burdell Award
  • Dimple Bansal, SWE Outstanding Engineer Award
  • Hannah Chang, SWE GEAR Award

Undergraduate Student Government Association

  • Daniel Farmer (Joint Finance Committee), Committee of the Year Award
  • Greg Jones, Student Council Member of the Year Award
  • Bethany Naser, Sergeant Gary F. Beringause Friend of the Student Award
  • Yohnathan Thio, Dean George C. Griffin Faculty Member of the Year Award
  • Ninh Tran, Dean James E. Dull Administrator of the Year Award

Freshman Activities Board

  • Dr. Cianan Russell, Freshman Professor of the Year

Omicron Delta Kappa

  • Sidhartha Sinha, Joseph Pettit Memorial Sophomore Award
  • Ethan Craig, John Hannabach Achievement Award
  • Bill Todd, G. Wayne Clough Friend of the Student Award
  • Laura Carpenter, ODK Senior Salute Award

Student Alumni Association

  • Zuri Hudson, Most Spirited
  • Walt Ehmer, Outstanding Alumni

Collegiate Panhellenic Council

  • Alpha Delta Pi, Academic Excellence Award

Office of the Dean of Students

  • Dr. Abby Myers, A Matter of Degree Award
  • Sheereen J. Brown, TECHcellence Award

President's Council Governing Board

  • Nu Mu Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Best Organization of the Year
  • Wreckless, Danielle McDonald Legacy Award
  • The Neuroscience Club at Georgia Tech, Most Outstanding Faculty/Staff Advisor
  • Alpha Xi Delta, Most Creative Fundraiser
  • MOVE, Outstanding Campus Impact
  • Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers, Most Organizational Spirit
  • Yellow Jacket Archery Club, Most Improved Organization
  • Student Center Programs Council and Residence Hall Association, Best Joint Activity
  • India Club, Best Activity
  • Zeta Tau Alpha, Best Ongoing Service Project
  • Alternative Service Breaks, Best Short Term Service Project
  • FirstGen, Best New Organization

Georgia Tech Student Foundation

100% GTSF Donor Organization
  • Women's Leadership Conference
  • Freshman Council
  • Freshman Activities Board (FAB)
  • Presidents Council Governing Board
  • Alpha Kappa Alpha
  • Sigma Nu
  • Alpha Phi Alpha
  • Zeta Tau Alpha
  • Wreckless
  • Women’s Lacrosse
  • Theta Xi
  • Theta Chi
  • Tau Kappa Epsilon
  • Student Alumni Association
  • Sigma Gamma Rho
  • Sigma Chi
  • Sigma Beta Rho
  • Sigma Alpha Epsilon
  • Ramblin’ Reck Club
  • Phi Mu
  • Phi Kappa Theta
  • Phi Gamma Delta
  • Phi Delta Theta
  • Lambda Chi Alpha
  • Kids@Kollege
  • Kappa Sigma
  • Kappa Alpha
  • International Justice Mission
  • Habitat Humanity Exec Board
  • GT Glee Club
  • GT Band
  • GT Ambassadors
  • Delta Tau Delta
  • Delta Sigma Phi
  • Delta Chi
  • Community Service Council
  • Alpha Xi Delta
  • Alpha Phi
  • Alpha Epsilon Pi
  • Alpha Delta Pi
  • Alpha Chi Omega

Center for Academic Success

  • Justin Brotzman, Outstanding Student Assistant
  • Catherine (Katie) Flynn, Outstanding 1-to-1 Tutor
  • Amanda Grubb, Outstanding PLUS Leader

National Pan-Hellenic Council

  • The Nu Beta Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Best Overall GPA
  • The Xi Alpha Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Best New Initiate Line GPA
  • The Xi Alpha Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Best Collaborative Programming
  • Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., Outstanding Philanthropy Award
  • The Nu Mu Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Pinnacle Award

Georgia Tech Student Ambassadors

  • Dr. Richard Barke, Modern Day Aristotle Award
  • Catie McCoy, Most Outstanding Staff Award
  • Dr. Rafael Bras, Most Likely to be the Twenty-First Century Isaac Newton
  • Billiee Pendleton-Parker, Most Georgia Tech Spirit
  • Gary Jones, Goes the Extra Mile Award

Multicultural Greek Council

  • Delta Phi Lambda, Outstanding Excellence
  • Alpha Iota Omicron, New Members
  • Sigma Beta Rho, Council Pride
  • Delta Phi Lambda, Most Social
  • Delta Phi Lambda, Most Greek

Georgia Tech Student Foundation

  • Brittany Mays, J Erskine Love, Jr. Award

Women's Resource Center

  • Rebecca Norton, Make a Difference Award
  • Gwen Hughes, Yvette Upton Empowerment Award

Order of Omega

  • Elizabeth Baker (Alpha Gamma Delta), Greek Woman of the Year
  • Marlin Jamell Holmes (Alpha Phi Alpha), Greek Man of the Year
  • Ann Marie Reynolds, Outstanding Chapter Volunteer Award
  • Mandy Volpe, Ed Kohler Faculty/Staff Excellence Award Application
  • Sheila Raman, Alpha Impact Award
  • Liz Bivins, Executive Member Award
  • Mary Peters, Best New Member Award
  • Jada Green, Best New Member Award
  • Elizabeth Baker, Judith Prity Award
  • Laura Carpenter, Judith Prity Award
  • Alpha Chi Omega, Chapter Relations Award
  • Alpha Xi Delta, Philanthropy and Community Service Award
  • Alpha Xi Delta, Panhellenic Spirit Award
  • Alpha Gamma Delta, Most Improved Chapter
  • Alpha Chi Omega, Chapter of Excellence

New Student & Sophomore Programs

  • David Bamburowski, Friend of New Student & Sophomore Programs
  • Morgan Rice, Friend of New Student & Sophomore Programs

Community Service Council

  • Cecili Reid, Visionary Service & Leadership Award

Center for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning

  • Luis Nunez (School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering), CETL/Frank Bogle Nontraditional Student Award
  • German Retana (Scheller College of Business), CETL/BP Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor
  • Ranjini Vaidyanathan (School of Mathematics), CETL/BP Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant
  • Andrew Travis Rogers (School of Mathematics), CETL/BP Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Assistant


  • Salvador Ocampo, GradFund Award

Office of International Education

  • Samay Jhunjhunwalla, International Student Leadership Award

Interfraternity Council

  • FIJI, James E. Dull Best Overall Fraternity Award
  • Theta Xi, Homecoming Champion
  • FIJI, Educational Programming
  • FIJI, Intramural Champion
  • Sigma Nu, Philanthropy/Community Service
  • FIJI, Leadership
  • Delta Chi, Scholarship

The ANAK Society

  • Nick Keith, The George Wingfield Semmes Memorial Scholarship
  • Kelsey Sharp, The George Wingfield Semmes Memorial Scholarship
  • Emily Gooding, The George Wingfield Semmes Memorial Scholarship

Related Links

Additional Information


News Briefs

No categories were selected.
Related Core Research Areas
No core research areas were selected.
Newsroom Topics
No newsroom topics were selected.
faculty awards, office of student involvement, staff awards, student awards, student involvement, student organization awards, up with the white and gold
  • Created By: Kristen Bailey
  • Workflow Status: Draft
  • Created On: Apr 24, 2013 - 12:28pm
  • Last Updated: Oct 7, 2016 - 11:14pm