College of Architecture Names 2012 NSF ADVANCE Women of Excellence


Dr. Catherine Ross, NSF ADVANCE Professor for the College of Architecture

Sidebar Content
No sidebar content submitted.

Summary Sentence:

No summary sentence submitted.

Full Summary:

National Science Foundation program recognizes women of excellence in the College of Architecture at Georgia Tech.

  • Ann Gerondelis Ann Gerondelis

The College of Architecture’s National Science Foundation ADVANCE Program is pleased to announce the 2011-2012 Women of Excellence Award Winners. These awards are presented to individuals who have distinguished themselves through professional leadership, mentoring, academic excellence and sustained service on behalf of the Georgia Institute of Technology and the College of Architecture.

CoA NSF ADVANCE Women of Excellence Faculty Award ($1500)

Ann Gerondelis, Director of the Common First Year (CFY), joined Georgia Tech in 2002 as an instructor, and served in that position through 2007.  Ann’s current research investigates relationships between design teaching and learning.  Of particular interest are the roles of calibrated curricular structures; feedback and formative assessment; research integration; teaching and learning meta-cognitive skills; and description skills related to design processes.  Prior to joining Georgia Tech, Ann was an assistant professor at the National University of Singapore teaching studios, seminars and workshops.  She was also the winner of the 1985 SGF prize.  Ann has practiced architecture for 12 years and is a registered architect in the state of Georgia.  Ann’s commitment to excellent teaching and innovative pedagogy through the Common First Year is an inspiration.  She is a wonderful role model and an earnest and contributing colleague.  Due to the structure of the CFY, Ann is in an excellent position to mentor new entry-level teachers as well, challenging them to bring their unique points of view to bear in a rigorous and nurturing program.

CoA NSF ADVANCE Women of Excellence Graduate Award ($800)

Master of Architecture student, Christine Cangelosi, has along with others led the effort over the past year to organize a new student group, Women in Architecture. See! Women in Architecture (WIA) has made a substantial contribution to advancing issues of equity in the profession and in professional education. While females comprise approximately 41% of students in accredited architecture programs, GT's architecture enrollment approaches a gender balance more the impressive due to GT's historically male dominant culture. Christine and WIA are reaching across disciplinary boundaries as well, to other disciplines in the COA and to women in engineering. WIA brings transformative energy and commitment to the future.

CoA NSF ADVANCE Women of Excellence Undergraduate Award ($500)

Roya Agharahimi has distinguished herself by a commitment to excellence at Georgia Tech in her academic work, leadership in the College of Architecture, and her many contributions to the culture of the School of Building Construction, College of Architecture, and Georgia Tech through her consistent and positive engagement with the Georgia Tech community. For the past two years, Roya has served as a student assistant and undergraduate recruiter for the College of Architecture. She has led dozens of tours of the College to prospective students, their families, and whole classes of local middle and high school students. She has also actively participated in campus-wide women recruitment events and other functions representing the College. Roya is a willing partner in all activities and is professional, articulate, and positive.

The 2010-2011 award winners were:

  • Professor Ellen Dunham-Jones, who received the faculty award;
  • Ning Ai, City and Regional Planning Doctoral Candidate, who received the graduate award;
  • no undergraduate nominations were submitted.

The 2009-2010 award winners were:

  • Professor Nancey Green Leigh, City and Regional Planning;
  • Architecture PhD candidate Paola Sanguinetti; and
  • Krystal Persaud, senior undergraduate student in Industrial Design.

The 2008-2009 winners were:

  • Professor Betty Dowling, Architecture;
  • Jessica Doyle, City and Regional Planning doctoral student; and
  • Shannon Barnes, undergraduate in Building Construction.

Additional Information


College of Design

Student and Faculty
Related Core Research Areas
No core research areas were selected.
Newsroom Topics
No newsroom topics were selected.
No keywords were submitted.
  • Created By: Teri Nagel
  • Workflow Status: Published
  • Created On: Apr 30, 2012 - 5:11am
  • Last Updated: Oct 7, 2016 - 11:12pm