

# Coordinated Control of Multi-Robot Systems on the Robotarium



#### Date:

04 September, 2018

#### Time:

12:30 PM to 2:00 PM

#### Location:

TSRB Auditorium 85 Fifth Street NW Atlanta, Georgia United States 30308

#### Space is limited, RSVP to

https://events.vtools.ieee.org/m/176143

For details, please contact:

Alessio Medda alessio.medda@gtri.gatech.edu 404.407.8217

### **IEEE SPS Chapter Invited Lecture Series**

## Prof. Magnus Egerstedt Georgia Institute of Technology

Abstract. As the robots are leaving their cages on the manufacturing floors and enter our daily lives, they must be able to interact with people as well as with other robots. In this talk we will discuss some of the robotic mega-trends and the challenges associated with this, with particular focus on human-robot and robot-robot interactions. In particular, we investigate this topic in the context of the Robotarium, which is a remotely accessible swarm robotics research testbed where over a hundred ground and air vehicles can be tasked with performing coordinated maneuvers in a safe and effective manner.

Biography. Dr. Magnus Egerstedt is the Steve W. Chaddick School Chair and Professor in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He received the M.S. degree in Engineering Physics and the Ph.D. degree in Applied Mathematics from the Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden, the B.A. degree in Philosophy from Stockholm University, and was a Postdoctoral Scholar at Harvard University. Dr. Egerstedt conducts research in the areas of control theory and robotics, with particular focus on control and coordination of complex networks, such as multi-robot systems, mobile sensor networks, and cyber-physical systems. Magnus Egerstedt is a Fellow of the IEEE and has received a number of teaching and research awards, including the Ragazzini Award from the American Automatic Control Council, the Outstanding Doctoral Advisor Award and the HKN Outstanding Teacher Award from Georgia Tech, and the Alumni of the Year Award from the Royal Institute of Technology.

