Mary Frank Fox Recognized by President Peterson

No contact information submitted.
Sidebar Content
No sidebar content submitted.

Summary Sentence:

President Peterson recognized Mary Frank Fox in his Institute Address.

Full Summary:

No summary paragraph submitted.

  • Mary Frank Fox, ADVANCE professor Mary Frank Fox, ADVANCE professor

President Peterson's Institute Address recognized Mary Frank Fox, ADVANCE Professor, School of Public Policy, as a nationally recognized faculty member in her recent election as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for "distinguished research on women and men in scientific organizations and occupations, and for national leadership on issues related to diversity, equity, and excellence in science."

Dr. Fox 's research focuses on women and men in academic and scientific organizations and occupations. Her research has introduced and established ways in which scientists’ participation and performance reflect and are affected by the social and organizational settings in which they are educated and work, with significant implications for science and technology policy.

SHe has published her research in over 60 different journals, books, and collections. In 2015, she received an award as “Section Star” from the Science, Knowledge, and Technology Section of the American Sociological Association. In 2016, she received the Gender Equity Award at Georgia Tech. and in 2017 the Ivan Allen College Distinguished Research Award and the Faculty of the Year Award of the Student Government Association.

Fox brings to the national forefront issues of diversity, equity, and excellence through her work with advisory boards and panels including those as Member of the Social Science Advisory Board, National Center for Women and Information Technology, Council Member, Section on Science, Knowledge, and Technology, American Sociological Association, Advisory Board, Expanding Computer Education Pathways Alliance, Editorial Board Member of the leading journal, Social Studies of Science, and elected member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Electorate Nominating Committee, Division on Social, Economic, and Political Sciences.

Previous AAAS fellow honorees from the School of Public Policy include:

Susan Cozzens (1994)

Cheryl Leggon (2007)

Valerie M. Thomas (2010)

Philip P. Shapira (2016)

Kaye Husbands Fealing (2017)

Additional Information


School of Public Policy

No categories were selected.
Related Core Research Areas
Public Service, Leadership, and Policy
Newsroom Topics
No newsroom topics were selected.
AAAS Fellow, 2018 Institute Address
  • Created By: isaunders3
  • Workflow Status: Published
  • Created On: Sep 21, 2018 - 2:16am
  • Last Updated: Oct 15, 2018 - 2:21am